Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Writing a Book


My Novel in the Making.

‘Knight of the Oak’

UPDATE; if you want to read the story. It is in chapters on my other blog – called - ‘Writing Hell’  by following my link -

http://cobbie69.wordpress.com/       I will be posting a chapter every other week, have to edit first. Hopefully  keep checking in.

I have thought about and even started writing one last November 2011. I have had an idea in my mind for a good few years and last year in October I saw a BBC morning show interviewing a lady who participated in past web-based project called NANOWRIMO.

I checked it out and decided to give it a try. 50000 words in a month. At first thought it seemed almost impossible, but more research revealed that many people succeed in the task, mind many also failed, if one can call it failure.

Because as the month progressed I realized it was the partaking in this wonderful project, it was not all about doing the required 50000 words. As I looked into it I found small groups on Facebook and joined them, people all over the world and local groups meant communicating with many others participating and giving each other support and advice and help. This happened regularly because many of us had blank spells.

In fact I had a spot of blankness, having to write approximately 20000 words in 8 days, I had 3-4 days of no progress, and was thinking of giving up. But after reading and making a few comments on these pages I managed to get through to the magical 50000 words by the end time. In fact I managed to get to 52106 by closing time. I became a NANOWRIMO winner. The only downfall if it is so called is that my novel is not finished, but am still writing, admittedly a lot slower. But am slowly but surely reaching the end. Cannot wait for NANO 2012 I might finish it then, ha ha, hopefully start a new one. Book Two!

Powered by Plinky

February 2, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

16 Comments »

  1. I’m anticipating that your book will be great and hoping the second follows suit. 50,000 words is quite a big fit within such a small time. I admire your courage and also wish to write some books!

    Comment by teeceecounsel | February 2, 2012 | Reply

    • It was a bit of a struggle but very enjoyable. The seeing of characters developing, really great feel. Thank you

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 2, 2012 | Reply

      • Sure! just like mountain climbing ; getting to the pick is fun. With sufficient motivation almost anything is achievable.

        Comment by teeceecounsel | February 2, 2012

  2. I’m inspired. The things you can accomplish with dedication and commitment.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Comment by fgassette | February 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Lovely words and very much appreciate them, if this has inspired you then all is worthwhile. thank you, I will keep at it slowly but keep going.

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. That is so awesome that you accomplished this. Anything is possible. I see great things in your future writing pursuits. Keep up the good work and good luck with Nanowrimo 2012. I’m a writer, too, but don’t know if I could take the pressure of 50,000 in such a short time. It’s a great exercise, though, to get yourself moving…thinking…doing.

    Comment by carolbsessums | February 3, 2012 | Reply

    • I thought that, but still gave it go, as you should. The quality goes out the window for the month but after we all try to edit and finish…Worth a try, it was fun as well.

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 3, 2012 | Reply

  4. I invite you here my friend for lauching
    http://wp.me/p1Dwwo-qx :)

    Comment by jakesprinter | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks jake, will check out and hopefully participate.

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. Well done on keeping going and for finishing. As far as I was concerned it was a non-starter. I’m writing one too, but it’s about dyeing. It’s probably easier to work on that. It just has to make sense…..

    Comment by nuvofelt | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I am not for giving advice, but would say, just go for it and then edit. then it will make sense.

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. Cobbie, I take my hat off to you. I could not fathom trying to keep up with 50,000 words. Like you, I’m trying to publish a book (my first one is already in print) or two or five (depending on how my first few books sell) on the market. My books however only contain 7,500 words or less, and even then, It is a challenge to keep up with making the words count . . . and in my case, correlate with the pictures. In a nutshell, I wish you the very best of luck in getting your book printed and out there to share with the world!

    Comment by orples | February 8, 2012 | Reply

    • What can I say, you have taken time to say these lovely words. thank you sooooo much and will certainly try. again thanx ps; good luck with yours.

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 8, 2012 | Reply

  7. This sounds like an intersting project – is it for fiction only?

    Comment by Colline | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • The title NANOWRIMO = national novel writing month- but I do know people did not stick to this particular rule. It can be used just for inspiration, as I had done so. I would say give it a try. get involved with groups of support etc, check the website, worth a look…I and other in this blog world are going to do it again this year.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 901 other followers

