Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Sunday Post ‘Favourite Spot’


Sunday 30th September 2012

‘Favourite Spot’ by Jake….

To join in the fun just click the link below and follow instructions.

   http://jakesprinters.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/sunday-post-favorite-spot/

Because we only have one challenge  this week so far, I have to be a normal person this week… Sad Am I not…

The above is a village bridge from my past, where I and friends would gather and play guitars together. And it was here that I informed of my fathers death. Just like yesterday this memory is with me and below is the church of their resting place..

Above is the sister to the above bridge, the same same river/stream but a mile further down and at the end of the road  of which I used to live.                      Again on a nice Summer evening we would gather and enjoy a guitar session.   Still visit it..

Above is the hill, nearby to my birth village, whilst young child spent many evening here with the village activities. and especially remeber a couple of bonfire nights and enjoying some gooey toffee apples and sparklers..

The above church is where my parents are buried and it is here I like to visit and sit in the peace and just relax and imagine, and just enjoy the solitude.

              

September 30, 2012 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Personal, Space | ,

42 Comments »

  1. Beautiful and meaningful places. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Northern Narratives | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you and yes they are true to the heart.welcome and appreciated..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. The bridges strike a certain chord in my heart and somehow in my own memory. Like a dream. The photos are perfect. Tender memories in such lovely beauty is where they belong.

    The church is just what I would expect it to be in your charming village, just like the energy of the other images this one too holds tender memories and feelings. I can easily relate so i thank you for sharing such personal feelings and thoughts.

    Great Sunday post my good friend ~

    Comment by Barefoot Baroness | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • The bridges are just the dream, one that would enjoy a summer evning on the bank…thank you My Lady always welcome and appreciated;;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

      • I realized when I came back to leave just a smile to your reply that the lone tree on the hill also has a lot to say. I think its heard many stories. Lovely!

        Comment by Barefoot Baroness | September 30, 2012

      • That tree is great icon in the Forest, and no doubt it has some stories, infact it is where my novel actually starts as well…;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012

      • I thought so….

        Comment by Barefoot Baroness | September 30, 2012

  3. Beautiful images that hold special memories for you, Gerry. That little village church looks so peaceful.

    Comment by adinparadise | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • They certainly do and still very much at hand…the church dates back to something like 1000,, thank you and welcome…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. I love these pictures because I can feel the comfort in them. These places carry with them many stories, some sad, other happy, but all poignant.

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey Lorna, yes the bridges have a few stories, and glad to mostly happy ones, one day if I remember I could a post on one or two…Always welcome and honoured…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

      • Yes, do tell some stories about the bridges. They can’t speak for them selves!

        Comment by Lorna's Voice | October 1, 2012

      • watch this space Lorna, good idea…;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012

  5. Those were the days! Sadly they probably don’t play guitars near the bridges any more…..

    Thanks for sharing your memories

    Comment by nuvofelt | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • No everyone moved away, still play guitars but not there these days…. thank you and welcome..xx

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

      • I’m always pleased to read that you are still enjoying your guitar. It’s good to enjoy making music.

        Comment by nuvofelt | September 30, 2012

      • Yes, although I must admit I hhave recently been inspired to duust the cobwebs.. thank you so much, welcome..;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012

  6. Lovely places for contemplation, memories in every picture for you.

    Comment by gingerbreadcafe | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes some of the best, and beautiful as well, you mind can drift easily,,,thank you and welcome… ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  7. Great photography Gerry for this week theme , I really enjoy it
    thanks for sharing my friend :)

    Comment by jakesprinter | September 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Jake, always glad when you visit and like, I managed to do yours on a stand alone post this week… welcomed and thank you…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  8. Oh, Gerry, these are great photos. I always love to see people playing guitars in random places, not busking, just playing for the joy of it. I can imagine you all on the bridge.

    Comment by trishworth | October 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, can you imagine two three or four of us sitting on the bannisters and just playing and enjoying the sounds,, moments to treasure, Trish, and I love your comment thank you, always welcome…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  9. These are great photos, Gerry. I love the bridges. I always have loved bridges. But I have to ask you — the church looks as if it actually goes uphill to the left. Has it really been built on a slant, or is it just the angle of the photo?

    Comment by sandraconner | October 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey Sandra, yes the church is on top of a small hill and yes it is at a slight angle, more noticeable inside. Such a beautiful little building, and 1000 years old still looking good.. My old home there are several bridges but these two are important parts of my past and fav’e spots… Thank you so much Sandra for your comments and always welcome…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  10. Super pix, Gerry. The church/cemetery looks like a good place to sit and meditate. Nice job. :-)

    Comment by Gemma | October 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Gemma, it is a great place, so many thoughts flow freely.. and close ones parents, nothing betters it.. welcome and thank you, ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  11. they are great photos and it was wonderful that you shared these memories with us

    Comment by Jo Bryant | October 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Jo, so happy that you like,, so appreciate your comment and praise,, thank you. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  12. Fantastic favourite spot @Cobbies, Sunday post @Jake inpired us :P @Thanks for your stopping, I appreciate it very much :P

    Comment by campanulladellaanna | October 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Double thank you, for stopping by mine and I enjoyed yours and will continue to return…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  13. The village in the first picture reminds me of a place we visited in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. I know you must have many wonderful, sad and bittersweet memories from your childhood village. Strange how traumatic memories can come to the front of our minds like it was just yesterday. Love bridges. That’s a cool shot of the trees at the top of the hill. I am lovin’ that beautiful old church! That, indeed, speaks volumes. I just LOVE old buildings, especially churches. Do you know when that church was built? Your shots are awesome, as usual. *squish* ;)

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | October 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes Carol thanks for stopping by, it is a great pleasure to see you visiting..I really do love your comments and in answer to you question, the church is over a thousand years old, it was but in 950 approx. inside it very special plain, but quite impressive for its age…

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 3, 2012 | Reply

      • Sorry my posting button early.. this my parents graveyard, and my place of solace…Once agin ‘squidge’ very nicce to see you again… may all your ventures come to fruition..

        Comment by cobbies69 | October 3, 2012

      • Sorry I’m been slacking in visiting lately. I have got to make more time for this. Wow, the age just makes me love this church more. Such history and beauty. Back when architects knew what they were doing and they put such care into their craftsmanship. Very impressive, indeed.

        Comment by Carol B Sessums | October 3, 2012

      • ;) squidge..

        Comment by cobbies69 | October 3, 2012

      • No problem squidge,, thank you..;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | October 3, 2012

  14. I feel like I want to call you guitar-man. Wasn’t there a song with that tile? Anyway, this was a fun post. You blog is fun to visit. Great sense of humor.
    Toodles,
    Izzy

    Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | October 4, 2012 | Reply

    • That would be fine by me Izzy, thank you,yes a group called Bread did one and Elvis as well. So you are right…Love your visit and comments as always welcome..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 4, 2012 | Reply

  15. Such great shots… Love the bridges too and that church is quaint. ;-)

    Comment by eof737 | October 5, 2012 | Reply

    • The church is over a 1000 years old,, watch this space cos I am about to do a post about the bridge ans couple of short stories me and a friend did way back in time..love your visits thank you.. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 5, 2012 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 882 other followers

