Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Porch Sitting


Tuesday 23rd October 2012  

This is a picture of a rocking chair sent to me from a very good blogging friend. I find this topic very fascinating and she has sent me a couple of pictures for me to use in this post. This lady has become a very close friend. I thank her greatly for these wonderful pictures that she has allowed me to use..

Porch Sitting….

Porch sitting, i.e., sitting on a front porch or stoop, usually of a private residence is a leisure activity which can be a direct or indirect form of social interaction. While engaged in “porch sitting”, people may “cat call” or talk to and comment on those passing by. This activity is a staple of most urban areas in the United States, and helps contribute to a lively atmosphere, for those sitting and also those passing by. This activity is most common during good weather, especially on warm summer nights and weekends.

Porch sitting was once considered to be a status symbol.

As well as being a good way to connect with neighbors, it also is an important form of community security, helping to prevent crime. Front porches were originally mandated in the planned community of Seaside, Florida as a way to reduce air conditioning usage. Its planners then perceived an enhanced sense of community and front porches subsequently became an important element in the New Urbanism movement. During the summer of 2006, All Things Considered broadcast a series of stories dedicated to the role of the front porch in US life and literature.

There are now thousands of porch sitters unions in all 50 states in the United States of America and at least three other countries.

                           

History..brief..

Though Benjamin Franklin is thought to be the inventor of the rocking chair there is no historical evidence of this. Historians can only trace the rocking chair’s origins to North America during the early 18th century. They were originally used in gardens and were just ordinary chairs with two rockers at their bottoms. It was in 1725 that early rocking chairs first appeared in England. The production of wicker rocking chairs reached its peak in America during the middle of the 18th century. These wicker rockers, as they were popularly known, were famous for their craftsmanship and creative designs.

                               

Above is another couple of special photographs that my great blogging friend sent me of her porch rocking chairs..They are perfect for this post..

My Want…..  Many years ago way back when, I do not like thinking of it, I had watched films and musicals and old blues artists playing their guitars. We can always see a rocking chair on a porch in the background or as part of the main scene. The black blues musician sitting and rocking and a playing his blues, and Gene Kelly dancing around one, and not to forget ‘The Walton’s’. It has always been a wonder or curiosity of mine, but now my  little bubble has burst and here we are… 

The American icon, no it is not a famous film star, it is not Oprah Winfrey or Dave Letterman.. Yes you guessed it, it is the ‘Porch Rocking Chair..’

After talking at great lengths with my friend I have made it a goal, yes a personal goal, I really want to and intend to sometime to come to America and be part of this American icon and sit in one and play my guitar and apart from singing my own song, I will be rocking gently playing Johnny Cash -I’m Gonna Sit on the Porch and Pick on My Old Guitar. This my ultimate dream and want..I also know which porch to christen my dream..As well as to say while doing this it has become quite emotional for me..so I really do hope ye’all enjoy this post as much as I have in compiling it….

And a very big Thank You to my great friend, and would like to dedicate this post to her….

Famous Rocking Chair

President John F. Kennedy made the P&P Chair Company rocker famous. The President was prescribed swimming and use of a rocking chair by his physician in 1955 because the President suffered from lingering back problems. The president so enjoyed his rocker he brought it on Air Force One when he traveled around the country and the world. He bought additional rockers for Camp David and the Kennedy estates, and gave them as gifts to friends and heads of state. The Kennedy Rocking Chair is shaped, stem-bent and assembled while green according to the original design.                                                                                       Some info gained courtesy of Wikipedia.

          My New Dream….

October 23, 2012 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Music, Personal, Space | , , , ,

35 Comments »

  1. Thats a sign your geting old Gerry.

    Comment by Harry | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Certainly Harry,with a hearing aide as well, just right for us both heehe! ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. We never had a rocking chair, but when we were kids, I liked to sit in a chair on the porch and read a book. Great post :)

    Comment by Northern Narratives | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Nor I from the UK we hardly ever have them…thank you so much for your comment and visits…welcome..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. A beautiful and tender essay about rocking our American style. I think this is fabulous a honor to some old rocking chairs & the wonder of porch talk.

    Thank you for sharing My KInd Sir. I know there is a chair waiting with your name on it. ~

    Comment by Barefoot Baroness | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • I look forward to the day my lady..;) so glad you like as always welcome…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. It is certainly a way to become of exceeding good chair, but to do that even more I think I would prefer Porshe sitting? :)

    Comment by colonialist | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment,, but I would stick to porch chairs// welcome as always..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 23, 2012 | Reply

  5. My friend was born and raised in Florida. She, often, talks about sitting on the front porch and having neighborly conversations. She talks about hot summer nights drinking mint julip coctails while rocking to a very humid breeze, too.
    Johnny Cash singing … the best !!!

    Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • That is a nice memory Izzy love it,, just makes me think how many other have nice memories of a rocking chair and porch.. it really makes me think..thank you as always welcome Izzy. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 24, 2012 | Reply

  6. Gerry, this is terrific. And it’s true that in many, many neighborhoods all over the U. S., sitting on the porch (front or back) has been a staple of family and community life. I have way too many great memories of such experiences to even count them. Great post.

    Comment by sandraconner | October 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Sandra, it has always been in my mind and became the right time to do a post and in some cases I was surprised myself..love your comments as always welcome Sandra,, ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 24, 2012 | Reply

  7. I love this!

    Comment by jmgoyder | October 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Jules appreciate you visit and comment..:)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 24, 2012 | Reply

  8. These ARE great pictures. I love porches and rocking chairs. They beg you to relax and just breathe in life as it’s happening. We need to do a lot more of that and a lot rushing around,

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | October 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Iwould love to be able to do this,, and maybe one day..;)
      Thank you Lorna,,welcome,,

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 25, 2012 | Reply

  9. A really charming post, Gerry. I always associate rocking chairs with old people who have plenty of time on their hands, to just sit and watch the world go by. :) Love the Johnny Cash.

    Comment by adinparadise | October 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Is that pipe smoking crinklies ye hah ing foot tapping hillbilly types,, or just oldies watching the world go by.. heehee thank you for your comment and visit…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 25, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love the guitar and now, you’ve made me love the rocking chair. I may be borrowing your dream here! :)
    I enjoyed this post so much!

    Comment by teeceecounsel | October 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey Teecee you are welcome to borrow what you like. thank you for visiting and leaving wonderful comments.. welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. Oh my, how I loved these photos and your story telling. I LOVE rocking chairs and cannot imagine life without them. I was rocked in my mama’s lap in rocking chairs. I grew up in rocking chairs. I was given a rocking chair when I was 6 years old as a gift from my grandpa that I kept until it became warped from overuse. I rocked Hallie in rocking chairs. There’s just something so warm, cozy and comforting about them, as well as having a porch with a porch swing. Sitting in the porch swing, wrapped up in a cozy blanket on a crisp, cold evening, sippin’ on somethin’ hot and steamy, with my sweet babe beside me. It doesn’t get any better than that. Awesome post. And by the way, you and your family are always welcome to stay with us when y’all need a trip to the U.S., and ya need to sit a spell in rockin’ chairs or the porch swing. Our door’s always open for y’all, my brother. ;)

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | October 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so very much for your kind words, Carol your lovely story is what this post is all about… And what can I say about your lovely offer,, If the chance arises be sure I might take the offer.. So ‘Squidge’ thank you so much and regards to your Hallie and mother ..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 27, 2012 | Reply

      • Always, ‘Squish’. And regards to your lovely wife and Ellie, as well. ;)

        Comment by Carol B Sessums | October 29, 2012

      • ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | October 29, 2012

  12. Beautiful photos of a charming tradition! Loved it Gerry :-)

    Comment by Madhu | October 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Madhu, I got quite into subject and was fascinated by it.. welcome..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 29, 2012 | Reply

  13. Am I back in business looking like my gravatar? I am seeing it now, how about you? Thank you for letting me know my Kind dear friend.

    Comment by Barefoot Baroness | October 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes certainly ok now and your new email is showing,,back in business my lady…

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 30, 2012 | Reply

      • Thank you again my Kind Sir for the heads up about this, I would not have known had you not said anything. You are a best friend to this lady, and I am most grateful for your friendship ~

        Comment by Barefoot Baroness | October 30, 2012

  14. Johnny Cash :)

    Comment by Cardinal Guzman | November 9, 2012 | Reply

    • And in England Val Doonican ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 9, 2012 | Reply

  15. A wonderful salute to a bygone era, Gerry. ;)

    Comment by ruthincolorado | November 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Ruth, appreciate your visit and comment ‘)

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 16, 2012 | Reply

  16. To me, rocking chairs are still a fascinating aspect of social living.

    Comment by themofman | November 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Always been my fascination and have always loved their iconic values,, thank you ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 18, 2012 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers

