Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101-Day 17.


Wednesday 25th June 2014

Personality on a Page.

Writing00999jpg.jpg

 

 

http://cobbie69.wordpress.com/   For all the original 101 Stories..

clip_image001[4]

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2Write 101 -Day 17 – We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s twist: Write this post in a distinct style from your own.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-seventeen/

 

Words..553

Gaa/C© June 2014

Water, water everywhere and I steer clear of it. Well not quite true, I just remain a safe distance from the liquid. While my friends, in the past, would arrange and go swimming whether it be swimming pools or the beach, I would always remain home, making my excuses. As it was swimming bored me, and sun bathing on the beach was and still is to me a complete and utter waste of time. Nothing is more boring than sitting on the beach trying to get skin cancer. But my fear is water and has been for as long as I can remember.

One hot summers day my mother packed a picnic and took us down to the river, this part of our local river was like a mini beach, pebble shingle and a variety of depths to paddle or swim. The water was clean fresh and cool, and was a very popular meeting place for local families and very safe for their children. The main advantage of this part of the river was that the parents always had their children in view.

I was about eight years of age, and playing happily in the water with friends and my brother. All was going well, laughing and enjoying the water, running in and of the water, stopping for a sandwich and a drink and back into the water. I was happy in the water until an accident happened and I think it was this that put me off water ever since. I fell and lost control and submerged, completely underwater, I then scrambled about in a panic. A friend nearby pulled me up out of the water and I went and sat on the river bank. Not really knowing or understanding what had happened, all I do know is, I never went near water again. Needless to say I have never learnt to swim, I did however make sure my daughter learnt to swim and she loves the water. She swims well, like a fish as the saying goes. Yeh right!

A little contradiction is I love boats and being on the water in boats, the small ones can be scary, but the bigger ones, like ferries and cruise liners and yachts I love and enjoy the sailing. Not sure what would happen if the boats hit a problem, how I would react, my calm and relaxed persona would possibly fly out the porthole.

For awhile I fitted cookers and heaters into boats of various sizes and getting to some were a little risky to say the least. To get to some of these yachts the supply of small rubber dinghy or inflatable crafts were used and these frightened the pants off me. Walking along beaches and coast lines is a hobby of mine enjoying the views and looking out to the sea, but I always remain a good distance.

I use to enjoy walking in the rain, that cool refreshing feeling was so invigorating. But swimming pools and coastal beach bathing is not for me, much else about water is okay.

Gaa/C June 25th 2014

2014 signature

thank-you09_thumb.jpg

Restawyle

June 25, 2014 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Interest, Music, New Forest, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

21 Comments »

  1. After an experience like that I would also fear the water.

    Comment by Colline | June 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Colline, it seems that it was this, cannot relate any other to my fear… welcome always ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | June 25, 2014 | Reply

  2. I’m also not a water baby, although in recent years, I have made myself go snorkelling out at sea a couple of times. I found it terrifying, and poor hubby said that I held onto him so tight, that I could have drowned him. I had on a life jacket, but he didn’t. :)

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | June 25, 2014 | Reply

    • I can imagine, but you must feel really pleased with your efforts,, sometimes I think how much I might be missing.. welcome always ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | June 26, 2014 | Reply

      • Yes, I was quite proud of myself. Hubby isn’t keen on a repeat performance, but one never knows. :)

        Comment by anotherday2paradise | June 26, 2014

      • If you enjoyed it then I say go for it,, haha! thanks. ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | June 26, 2014

  3. I’m scared too, someone pushed me under the water in a swimming pool when I was a young girl! The scariest thing I’ve ever done was snorkelling on the oral off of Borneo, proud of myself though!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | June 25, 2014 | Reply

    • coral even!

      Comment by Lucid Gypsy | June 25, 2014 | Reply

    • You did something I could not, and so you should be proud,, if I manage to do something I am afraid of I would be proud,, I went Disney Florida 4 times and it took me the third to go on some rides, and so pleased I did.. still dont go on roller coasters though.. that is for daughter. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  4. Such a pity that nobody took the time and patience to restore your confidence. I enjoy swimming the year round.

    Comment by colonialist | June 25, 2014 | Reply

    • I cannot agree or disagree because I do not know any different, I don’t miss it, I am glad that my daughter was interested enough to learn and prove to be good at it… I now just enjoy the scenery…. welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  5. I wholely sympathise, Gerry. I’m quite timid of the water too, despite loving beach walks and boats :)

    Comment by restlessjo | June 28, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes Jo, IOW beach or Lepe. local to me and down in Dorset.. only if the weather allows…. welcome always.. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | June 28, 2014 | Reply

  6. I can’t swim either. I tend to panic. I don’t believe I won’t drown.
    I enjoyed the read. It brought back memories of my family and the beach.

    Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | July 1, 2014 | Reply

    • The closest I get to water these days is having in a cup of tea…This memory is only one of my family of this nature. welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 1, 2014 | Reply

      • hahaha … I don’t believe you could drown in a cup of tea. SSooo .. funny!!! Thanks for the chuckle, Gerry.

        Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | July 2, 2014

      • nice to able to create a smile welcome always. ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | July 3, 2014

  7. So your fear of the water is experiential, which is quite understandable. But what I remain intrigued about is what made you shift this fear to the perspective of ‘wasting of time’? For many others, water soothes and I suppose that is a great pupose being served.

    Shakti

    Comment by Shakti Ghosal | July 2, 2014 | Reply

    • I find it a waste of time purely because I find it so boring, but I also understand others enjoy this,, most things to do with water, ie: swimming comps on tely [Olympics] diving etc do not interest me. Maybe because of my feelings about swimming and water in general.. welcome and thanks. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 3, 2014 | Reply

  8. I almost drown twice… both times at a swimming baths. I steer clear of them… well-clear. Besides, they stink of chlorine…I cannot stand that, makes me breathless. I love the sea though, but that comes from being a Brit. I’ve even rowed out to sea. Like you, I love walking in the rain. :)

    Comment by Kev | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • I never thought of the smell of chlorine but yes that is another factor… I enjoy boats and beaches but not the water part. welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

