Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

The Ghost Party [Forest Tales Series]


Friday 4th July 2014.

Restawyle222

This story has many variations from many countries. the basics remaining the same. My story although it was attached to the Isle of Wight, I could easily have adapted it to a place in my old home village of Brockenhurst. There is at least two places I can think of.

The Ghost Party..

Words 450.

Way back in 1821, George Maurice Bisset, the owner of the most grandest mansions to be seen, in a fit of temper he set fire to it and burnt it to the ground. This was because he did not want his daughter to inherit. This was because she had the temerity to marry a clergyman without her fathers consent. All that was left of the mansion now are two gateposts standing at the end of the long drive.

A hundred years later in the 1920s me as a young man was walking the road enjoying the scene, and making notes for my blogging stories. It was very cold night, and it was getting late. and I thought it time to try to find a room for the night.  As I went I came upon two gateposts with heraldic beasts on top of them. I was so impressed, and, given it being New Years Eve, I wondered if I could a night’s shelter here.

          I walked down the drive, and saw that there were lights ablaze in every window of the mansion, and sounds of gaiety and laughter: there was a great party going on. It was obviously  fancy dress, because the men wore powdered wigs and women were resplendent in their Georgian dresses.

I banged on the front door and on the windows, but could not get any attention. After a period I gave up: but I was half way up the drive when I thought I would go back and try again. As I turned, a black carriage pulled by four black horses came thundering down the drive from the house towards me: I flung myself into a ditch to avoid being trampled beneath the hooves. I was so shaken, bruised and very angry, that I decided not to return.

I later found a room in the village in a small, quaint lodging house. When I was talking to the landlady about my experience, she told me that the house was long gone: it had been knocked down in her great – grannies time.

The next day I decided to go back, and found nothing but an overgrown road with two old gateposts at the entrance. There were no heraldic beasts on the gateposts, no house. All he could see was a field, a tumbledown barn an old orchard, and a tangle of weeds.

thank-you09_thumb.jpg

Restawyle

July 4, 2014 - Posted by | Ghostly, Interest, Music, New Forest, Personal, Uncategorized

32 Comments »

  1. Nice spooky story :)

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • and it is 100% true.. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  2. Eerie. Made the hair stand on the back of my neck. :/

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • It would mine if I had any,, smiling ;) welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  3. An interesting step back into the past Gerry. Now imagine if you had been able to join the party :)

    Comment by Colline | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • I would love to have tried… an all nighter… welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  4. I love stories like this, Gerry. Your tale made my skin prickle. 8O

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Have a few more in my locker,, watch this space… welcome and thank you ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  5. Wow spooky!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Trying hard to find them,, I bet there are some from your area.. welcome ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

      • On Dartmoor, The hound!

        Comment by Lucid Gypsy | July 4, 2014

      • yes is that the Sherlock story.or something else.. what about smuggling, IOW has a few of them… ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014

  6. “This was because he did not his daughter to inherit. This was because she had the temerity to marry a clergyman without her fathers consent.” you are missing the ‘want’…sorry Gerry…it is the ‘editor’ in me, I can’t help myself. Oh and…”It was obviously a fancy dress, because of the men wore powdered wigs”…I know…I know. I drive myself mad when I find mistakes in my stuff.

    But I love the story. Imagine you had been able to join them. Now that would be a tale to tell. I think my brain is wired for weird stuff…that is why I love the movie “Midnight in Paris”…I would be forever wandering the streets over there at midnight hoping to run in to greats from the past and just soak them in to my skin.

    Comment by Jo Bryant | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • I am okay with the corrections,, we ourselves do miss the obvious regularly.. glad you like otherwise. ;) welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

      • I sure do. I think that I have it nailed…post…then read the post and cringe.

        Comment by Jo Bryant | July 4, 2014

      • Soo easily done,, ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014

  7. I love a good ghost story. The carriage is creepy, like the narrator has a close brush with death.

    Comment by Robin | July 4, 2014 | Reply

    • glad you enjoyed,, haxe done several of these and more to follow.. welcome.. :)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 4, 2014 | Reply

  8. oh I like this one….I thought of the four horseman of the apocalypse for some reason..
    wonder if had had the door answered what he would have found inside…ro would have let out ?
    This is really good,
    Thank you for sharing…I look forward to more…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Comment by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words | July 5, 2014 | Reply

    • So pleased you enjoyed this one,,I suppose one could make another story of their own if the door opened,, who knows… it is a series I like to do and hopefully more to follow.. Always welcome maryrose. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  9. i am pretty sure I have been here, is it quite close to Osbourne House?

    Comment by paulaacton | July 6, 2014 | Reply

    • I believe it might well be based in the area… ;) welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 6, 2014 | Reply

  10. Hardly I ghost story I daresay! Ghost stories need to be scary, pregnant with an element of uncertainty and suspense. This one had neither:)

    Shakti

    Comment by Shakti Ghosal | July 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Ghost need not be scary, this depends on ones attitude to a story…this is as it says a story..

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 7, 2014 | Reply

  11. Oh good! You’re back to writing ghost stories! Does that mean you’re feeling better? :)

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | July 9, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh yes,, feeling a lot better now,, thanks Lorna.. I have done a series of stories on my Writing Hell blog and Sitting on the Porch series. Welcome always. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 10, 2014 | Reply

      • So glad to hear it, Gerry!

        Comment by Lorna's Voice | July 10, 2014

      • Thank you ;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | July 10, 2014

  12. Wow, what a way to start a new year. I’d like to see you go a little farther with this one and make it a bigger story — maybe even a novella.

    Comment by sandraconner | July 12, 2014 | Reply

    • I hope to do some more of these, like I once did,, but have to see how it goes etc.. Little like my Sitting on the Porch series.. Welcome Sandra always.. ;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 13, 2014 | Reply

  13. I have several true ghost stories in my own life. I love ghostly stories. Wonderful, my friend! ;)

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | July 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Squidge, I am always looking for more as well,, at moment writing one from when I was young boy in my New Forest…Welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | July 14, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 939 other followers

