Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual


17th March 2012
 

UNUSUAL, Maybe, Maybe Not!

You Tell Me..Please!

I am not too happy about this one, so will look to do another later. I do have a couple of ideas. But I hope you all like it though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The more I do the more I learn…

Last summer I had this idea of photographing water drops, this idea came from a television program.  So one sunny day I spent hours clicking away, deleting away. (Thanks a lot for digital) Some I really like, here are a few of my favorites. Some have edited. I do intend to try and do some more water based projects. But I find it difficult, but never give up eh!

March 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

95 Comments »

  1. I love the red one. That’s fantastic! I also think the photographer’s pretty unusual. 🙂

    Comment by trishworth | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Why thank you so much trish, All my life I have been told I am a strange one…lol
      sorry my reply was not in your reply box..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

      • I hope you didn’t think I meant strange. I meant different – I like the ideas you come up with for the photo challenges – they’re different from the rest of the pack. My son had a photography project once where he filled a balloon with water and held it in one hand and his camera in the other while I pricked the balloon with a pin. He got great photos of water droplets shooting in all directions. Imagine if he had filled it with that red liquid!

        Comment by trishworth | March 19, 2012

      • No, I am only joking,although I have been told I am different in many ways,but do appreciate your comments, well actually I love ’em. The red liquid is purely water with red food coloring. I experimented with colour against the daylight. That balloon ideas sounds good, might try that when the sun start shining. Thank you so much for your visit and comments and please call back love the little chats.. thanks..

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012

  2. Why thank you so much trish, All my life I have been told I am a strange one…lol 😉

    Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. Wow, this is not an easy quick shot… 😮 Terribly difficult to know when to press the shutter. Did you pray a lot for the camera to fire on the spot?

    Comment by Madman | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Well Madman, I was on the edge of my patience at times, I tried the multiple shot, but the quality was not so good. So yes it was wait, watch, (go cross eyed) and press, very quickly..Thank you so much…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’m finding this one difficult, and it’s making me wacky because I don’t want to miss a week. Novice anxiety. I think the shots are great. I enjoy looking at your photos. If you have more ‘unusual’, bring it on. I’ll be back… 🙂

    Comment by Gemma | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Gemma I thank you again for your words and visit, and please do come back, I have another idea I might use..:)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. This is such a cool post Gerry. You are very imaginative to take a common item, we all take for granted, and a put a spin on it. I love the way you posted the drop as it was dripping. I especially liked the drop when it’d broken away from the main stream to leave a single round droplet below the drip (if that makes sense). You done good! 😉

    Comment by orples | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, I do understand, it makes sense. It took me ages and my patience was getting thin..I was not even sure about posting this..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  6. Wow! I think it’s stunning! Great shots Gerry! 🙂

    Comment by Sonel | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Sonel for your kind words and visit again..appreciate it so much..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  7. Nice photos!! I love drops of water or dew or rain.

    Comment by Juliana | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much, so do I. Hard to photograph though..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  8. wow – the timing on these is great! not easy to do – but your sequencing is a nice flow, if you will pardon the pun.
    thanks for sharing!

    Comment by pix & kardz | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much, no it was not easy but it was fun.love to hear your thoughts. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  9. I love it. I think it is unusual that the water turned red in one of the photos 🙂

    Comment by Northern Narratives | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks a lot, I do have a sequence of red ones as well, but preferred the clear ones,, was not sure on this post at all, but looks i might be wrong..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  10. You captured the drop of water so well! I like it 🙂

    Comment by evilnymphstuff | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Evilnymph,,glad you like it…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  11. Cobbie … it looks like that was a difficult undertaking. You did a fine job of it.
    Perhaps, the water drop isn’t unusual but capturing at that lcose range and the unique
    thought process is unusual to me.
    Toodles,
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/weekly-photo-challenge-unusual/

    Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • It did take awhile and tested my patience, but saw it through. thank you again Isadora for your support ..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  12. Watching it is addictive!
    It would make a nice subtle message for a girl to send to a boy as an indication of what she thinks of him … 🙂

    Comment by colonialist | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • He would have to be clever enough to get the message hehe! not me I’m thick a bit of a drip,,,,,,,lol 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  13. time to stand and stare – well spent

    Comment by elspethc | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Dont stare too long you go cross eyed lol 😉 thank you elspethc for your visit and comment..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  14. Oh wow! Teach us how to do that too.

    Comment by rommel | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you greatly Rommel, for your comment. A lot of patience. but can try to explain if you wanted. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  15. I think the shots are great – I don’t think I would have the patience!

    Comment by gingerbreadcafe | March 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Well I surprised myself, so you never know… Thank you ‘gingerbreadcafe’ for visit and comment..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2012 | Reply

  16. Wow! What a great series you have so patiently and beautifully captured! Love it!!

    Comment by Andrea O'Connell | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Andrea for your wonderful words and I really appreciate them and enjoy the connections with every one. thank you

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  17. This is an unusual perspective of an ordinary subject 🙂 Definitely a shot that requires a lot of patience!

    Comment by happysherlock | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • I did struggle a little at the time. thank you for visit and comment..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  18. They are all lovely! Love them!

    Comment by Madhu | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Madhu, appreciate your visit and comment, ans especially your liking of my post.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  19. This is fantastic, Gerry! What patience! You have done a superb job. Do some more.

    Comment by sandraconner | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes Sandra it did take a lot of patience for me, have got some more red water ones..Thank you so much..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  20. the droplet looks really nice!

    Comment by joshi daniel | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much Joshi for your visit and words…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  21. Awesome photography! 🙂 Very nice entry!

    Comment by thirdhandart | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you and that is very of you to say so, cannot say how much I appreciate your words..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

  22. Fantastic, Gerry. Great capture of the water droplets.

    Comment by suitablefish | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • It was patience, which I nearly ran out of. Thank you for your words and visit.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

  23. I like both the idea and the execution of it

    Comment by Colline | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you very much for visit and comments appreciate it very much..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

  24. awesome! I like to capture water drops. But the results are not as good as you. Need to learn and try more 🙂

    Comment by idha2908 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you idha2908 for your lovely words and especially for visiting..pop back if you dare.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

  25. Photographing water droplets certainly require a lot of patience, and i mean A LOT, but you did very well. I did a similar series a while back and it certainly tested my patience.

    Comment by Gracie | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Gracie for your kind words and especially your visit. Did you post your results, I would like to see. Patience was certainly tested. but it was also fun..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012 | Reply

      • Yes I did 🙂
        Please feel free to check my archives, under Macro.

        Comment by Gracie | March 20, 2012

      • Will do thanks very much…

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 20, 2012

  26. Greetings Gerry!

    In appreciation of all of your visits and the comments you leave when you stop by, I am bestowing you with “The Top Recent Commenter Award”. Please feel free, when time allows, to drop by and nab your prize! 😉

    http://orples.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/top-recent-commenter-award/

    Comment by orples | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I appreciate greatly your nomination and of course will pop over when I have caught up and grab my prize. I will think of an acceptance speech…Watch out ear drums…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

      • Of course an acceptance speech is always welcomed, Gerry, but by no means necessary. I know how that time factor works, and hope the people (yourself included with my 777 award) will understand that it may be a few days before I get back to re-posting the awards not yet shown on my site. There just aren’t enough hours in the day it seems. 🙂

        Comment by orples | March 21, 2012

  27. Great! Catching a drop is quite a task. The timing and precision involved is much. Nice shot, I love it. It’s actually unusual to see a drop this clearly!

    Comment by teeceecounsel | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Teecee for your wonderful words, My timing more luck and patience. thanks so much again. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

  28. Gerry, these are so good! The first three have me mesmerised, they are such beautiful sweet drops!

    Comment by Patti Kuche | March 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks a lot Patti for stopping by and liking and especially commenting. I do get overwhelmed with all of these wonderful comments. I really do not expect it.. thanks so much.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

  29. I like this a lot, and yes, it’s definitely unusual, I think you hit the prompt right between the eyes. I enjoyed watching the progress oif the single drop, and the one photo where the drop is perfectly round is amazing. Great job on these!

    Comment by Judee | March 21, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Judee your comment is very much appreciated. But I am so glad that you liked it enough to comment.. pop back please.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

  30. Interesting pictures. If I have to pick a favorite it’d be the one with the dolphin cap and the drop has just separated from the little line of water.

    Comment by Michael Fishman | March 21, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for your visit and words and I would agree with you..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

  31. It’s an unusual amout of effort 😉 But seriously, you have to experiment to get the results you want. Now you have to take that experiment forwards to catch the other end of the process – when the drop hits the water at the bottom!

    Comment by 2e0mca | March 21, 2012 | Reply

    • I actually did try, but no matter how i set it up the picture was never much good. But as you say I will give it another try on a nice sunny day. thank you for you visit and comment..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 21, 2012 | Reply

  32. Gerry, Your new post (Unusual no. 2) isn’t working. Could you try again?

    Comment by trishworth | March 22, 2012 | Reply

    • I do not know what is happening I have not posted a number 2 yet, but will check what is happening.. thank you for your visit and comment..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

  33. Those are some cool water drops! They are hard to capture but are worth the effort. I’d love to see more attempts 😀

    Comment by blastedgoat | March 22, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much will be posting later, it seems there is a call for some more. thank you so much..watch this space……as they say

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

  34. Gerry, I especially like the red one. Good idea! I might try it some day too. I can’t await your second entry, which is not working for me either.

    Comment by Cassie's world | March 22, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Cassie for your lovely words and visit, I havent posted a second one yet, but will do later today… I do not know what is happening.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

  35. What a great idea… This one looks fine. 😉

    Comment by eof737 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for your visit and comments…appreciated..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

  36. It look slike there is a whale in the water droplet…

    Comment by readytochangenow | March 22, 2012 | Reply

    • It is a dolphin, being shrunk that small does distort the shape a little. Thank you for visiting and comment…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 22, 2012 | Reply

      • Good – I am not hallucinating 🙂

        Comment by readytochangenow | March 22, 2012

  37. that’s the spirit! never give up and you’ll definitely find yourself a prize-winner! great job, gerry!

    Comment by LivE | March 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you LivE, much appreciate your support and faith..pop back at will please.;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 23, 2012 | Reply

  38. Beautiful shots, Gerry!

    Comment by nelson RN | March 24, 2012 | Reply

  39. Thank you Nelson much appreciate your visit and comments..;)

    Comment by cobbies69 | March 24, 2012 | Reply

  40. Those water drops are awesome. Stunning photos my friend. Cool post.

    Comment by island traveler | March 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, I am becoming a little overwhelmed with all this..thank you ;;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 27, 2012 | Reply

  41. Hey, Gerry, how did you get these pictures to run as a slideshow? Gilly Gee and I talked about it, and she told me what she did. I went to the tutorial and followed all the instructions — I think. The last thing they said to do was to click “Insert Slideshow.” All my pictures are on the post, one underneath the other, but they are not in a screen where they move from one to the other. On the tutorial, what they call a “slideshow” does what your pictures do and what Gilly’s do. Would you tell me what steps you took so I can figure out what I might be missing? Thanks a lot.
    Sandra

    Comment by sandraconner | March 31, 2012 | Reply

    • GOOD NEWS! You don’t have to go to all that trouble now. I figured out what I needed to do. It was something a little different from what they said. Maybe it’s just that way on some of the themes. But no matter — it’s working. Thanks anyway.

      Comment by sandraconner | March 31, 2012 | Reply

      • Glad that you managed ok. If any advice wanted I would say, use the individual up loader, this helps if you want to put pictures in a certain order. It took me ages to get ‘THANKYOU’ to run in order. Any way Sandra well done…sorry was not about at your time of need..;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 31, 2012

    • Just read your request, sorry I missed it, 05.30 my time it came through. glad you worked it out ok, my other comment added a little tip..;) any way well done 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 31, 2012 | Reply

  42. Way back they called Picasso strange, different and weird! you my friend are very good and wonderfully unique!
    Thanks also for visiting my site!

    Comment by Wendell A. Brown | April 9, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for your kind words and visiting your site was truly enjoyable and will return..I am honoured, and thank you…

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 18, 2012 | Reply

  43. Good timing on the drip.

    Comment by themofman | April 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for your comment and visit, yes the timing took a lot of patience to get it. Still not quite what i wanted but my patience had got the better of me..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 18, 2012 | Reply

  44. […] ‘blue’. But then an idea formed in my mind.. blue water. Gerry once experimented with water drops, including red […]

    Pingback by Weekly Photo Challenge: BlueCassie meets World | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  45. […] old post from an old-time blogging friend. I remember this photography excellency very well – Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual. Gerry has been an all-over-the-map blogger providing us outstanding posts and being highly visible […]

    Pingback by Weekly Photo Challenges « The Sophomore Slump | December 12, 2012 | Reply

  46. I featured your blog and this post. Enjoy it – it’s from my super WPC post. 😀

    Comment by rommel | December 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Why thank you very much for this Rommel do so appreciate your support and responses.. thank you again, always welcome…:)

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 12, 2012 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

