Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Weekly Photo Challenge – Two Subjects.


14th April 2012

Two Subjects.                                                                              

Gerry A/C                                                    A slightly boring post this time around, graphically that is.

Music and Woodwork!

GAC/A

Below are three certificates from my mother. The two music ones were part of her violin and musical achievements. Those of you who read my earlier posts might recall my story of the time my mother passed her violin over to me. A treasure I still have, and will always have.

The woodwork certificate was attained and was to become part of her contribution to the war effort. She went on to help build gun boats that patrolled the English waters and protected the mainland.

This certificate was a duet,  she did tell me a little story about her duet partner, but for the life of me I cannot recall it.

Not that any one would want to but the above pictures are the property of the author, Gerry A/C and no unauthorised use is allowed without written permission by the said author. thank you.

Gerry Ainger/C 2012

April 14, 2012 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Personal | , ,

49 Comments »

  1. Clever intepretation. Love that you mum built gun boats during the war.

    Comment by shambolicliving | April 14, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, in a beautiful small village,on the estuary waters of Southampton. A place Called Bucklers Hard. She did tell me a few stories of her days during the war. Unfortunately she was taken from this world to soon.. thanks for liking and visit..

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. These are really cool! Your mother’s name seems to be French. Is it? What a story this woman had: a violinist who did woodwork on gunboats. Thanks for telling us about her.

    Comment by trishworth | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, Trish, Ninon, is french for nylon or silk, and Ainger not really sure, French possible also German possible, Without tracing back and finding the various spellings.. Yes she had a few stories,..Thanks so much for your visit and comments..love it.;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. Thanks for sharing some of the family treasure with us…I can see your mom means the world to you! It is such an awesome thing to keep her gift of love alive in your heart! Thanks my friend

    Comment by Wendell A. Brown AKA The Brown One Poet | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • It has now been many years since her leaving for the other world. But she has always remained alive in my mind and thoughts. my mother my friend… thanks for visit and comment…… love it.. 🙂

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. Wow, your Mom did start playing the violin at a young age. Obviously, you are very proud of her. I can’t say that I blame you, Gerry. 😉

    Comment by orples | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Marcy, those certificates show her to be 16. Yes, she was my friend as well as mother.. I am proud. Love your visit and comments thanks as always. always caring. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  5. Wow. Very cool!

    Comment by Just Ramblin' Pier | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  6. Beautiful Gerry. 🙂

    Comment by Sonel | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Sonel, for your visit and comment….;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  7. Wow, your mom – a very interesting woman. Impressive, indeed. I would be very proud of her, too. Very cool to have these pieces of her history.

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • why thanks so much, Carol, What with these and her violin, pure gold to me. As I said to Orples, she was my friend as well. I might do a post with some pictures of her pre-war.

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  8. Wow. Pretty AND impressive.

    Comment by Gemma | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Gemma thank you so much for your kind words and visit. love it…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  9. Great post! thanks for sharing.

    Comment by marina | April 15, 2012 | Reply

    • You are very welcome Marina, so pleased you liked… 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2012 | Reply

  10. Nice post Gerry what a great remembrance 🙂

    Comment by jakesprinter | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Jake as always am honoured. Appreciate your visit and comment. ps, have not done your challenges lately because behind and had to take a break…;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  11. What a great post…how awesome to have those memories and these piece to reinforce them

    Comment by Jo Bryant | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Jo for your visit and comment, I do not have much apart from these and the said violin and a few old photos. My best memories are in my head. Thanks again 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  12. They are wonderful and not remotely boring. They can’t have been in black and white though? Did you scan them with a b&w scanner?? The woodwork one is quite amazing – it’s so much more interesting to see individual tales of ‘the war effort’ and realise what was involved for people. You said you may write a post about her in one of the comments above – that would be great.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your very kind words, i am honoured, thanks for that. No the certificates are not black and white, they are a little faded now, but one music had red writing and the other had blue, all showing age. and the Woodwork was just a normal style cream back ground and Black writing. I did the black and white. I felt it showed up better. maybe right maybe wrong… I might put a thumbnail of the colours on post update!! thanks so much..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

      • That would be interesting to see if you get time, would like that.

        Comment by roughseasinthemed | April 16, 2012

  13. Such treasures you have. I know you cherish them. It’s so apparent. And it’s so lovely that you do.

    It’s hard sometimes looking back knowing that information we’d love to have now is no longer attainable; because we have found more meaning in it now as we’ve grown older. We realize the chances we missed in documenting the stories, the peoples names, the dates, etc….I so wish that I’d asked more, and journaled more while both my mom and grandmother were alive. I’m trying to make up for it now by journaling everything. Even everyday things.

    Comment by Barefoot Baroness | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • I also wish I had a few more conversations with her or my dad, but I suppose it was not something people of the war like to talk too much about. But I was lucky enough for her to tell me some pieces. I might, if I recall correctly make a post of it. I am doing a personal album for my daughter, so she knows a few things about my side of the family, again another story for another day. Thank you so much for making me think some more. always honoured. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  14. I don’t think this is boring at all. In fact, I think it’s amazing that your mother built gun boats during the war – how cool is that! Great take on this week’s theme 🙂

    Comment by happysherlock | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, she once showed me some pictures of these boats. She always said she could never be a land girl. So I suppose this was very apt. Thanks so much for your visit and comment… ;).

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

      • Your mother sounds like an amazing woman with such interesting life experiences 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

        Comment by happysherlock | April 16, 2012

      • To me she was, but likewise with all other children to their parents.. thanks so much…I will do a postabout her soon..

        Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012

  15. wonderful contribution, Gerry. Thank you for sharing these and the story of your mother’s violin and building gun boats. she sound likes a great woman.

    Comment by suitablefish | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • You are welcome, and so glad you liked it enough to comment with some nice words. i am honoured thanks..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  16. […] Gerry […]

    Pingback by Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects Cassie meets World | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  17. These are fascinating. A particular chord is struck by Southampton, the UK city I know best because my elder daughter and family live near there.

    Comment by colonialist | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh is that so,,, I live in southampton but my roots are the New forest, Lyndhurst and Brockenhurst approx 14 miles away. thanks so much for you visit and comment. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 17, 2012 | Reply

      • We have just had a friend from Brockenhurst staying with us for three weeks! And spent a night with her there in September. I simply love cycling in the New Forest.

        Comment by colonialist | April 18, 2012

      • might know them, my two brothers still live in Brockenhurst, Fathersfield, my family home. Beautiful place,,, still return regularly as it is only a few miles always, an parents buried in church. Thanks again always caring,..;)

        Comment by cobbies69 | April 19, 2012

  18. this is brilliant – real treasures! thanks for sharing.

    Comment by pix & kardz | April 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Wow! your comment puts me in awe, I did not expect it to be quite so popular, so to speak. I am truly honoured, thank you..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 17, 2012 | Reply

  19. Thanks for sharing, i wish success 😀 Thanks a lot for visit on my blog

    Comment by campanulladellaanna | April 18, 2012 | Reply

    • You are welcome and glad you enjoyed, will return on your post, thanks so much..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 18, 2012 | Reply

  20. oh i so love that this post is all about your mom, gerry, and also delighted that you’ve shared such interesting tidbits about her. a violinist and a woodworker: wow. that is so awesome. you have me wishing that i’d had the opportunity to meet her and get to know her more. 🙂

    Comment by LivE | April 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and visit. Yeh, she was taken too early and she had so much more to offer..I am honoured to read your lovely words and thanks..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  21. Thank you for the photos and stories.

    ~Anne

    Comment by annefreemanimages | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • So honoured and glad that you enjoyed, thanks for your visit and comment.;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  22. Impressive Gerry! Bravo! 🙂

    Comment by eof737 | April 22, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you so much, really appreciate your visit and comment…

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 22, 2012 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

