Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Luck, Punished or Just a Man #2


Wednesday 28th August 2013

I do hope you read this, and let me know what you think.. Thank you!

Express Yourself ‘Man’ Part 2. 

[Continued from Luck, Punished or Just a Man]

Enjoy the music while reading it is great.

I have had some great comments from my last post and therefore encourages me to do this follow up. I know I said I would, but it really depended on the response, and it was very positive. So I have decided to do it for that reason and my own piece of mind.

Dividers6

One blogger [blueribbonfair] left a comment regarding allergies and so right she is. I did have an allergy problem, but lucky enough not to have it so badly that it affected my life like I know it did with others I knew. And of course the lady who commented was also affected, sadly to say, some by peoples ignorance and some by the affect of the allergy on the person. With her allergy comment and how it affected her reminded of the time I was admitted to hospital for a week. For this reason, for allergy tests and anything the doctors saw fit to try. Please remember that the time period I am talking about is 1966 in England.

The wards, a long room wide enough to have a row of beds up against each opposing wall, and walkway wide enough for trolleys to pass. Each bed had a curtain surround for privacy, which was used when patients were being seen by doctors. My particular ward had about 15 beds along each wall. There were windows for all to look out, adding more daylight to the wards. At one end of my ward there were double doors that led to other wards, toilets and a leisure room, the other end was reception area and exit. The leisure room was for patients who were allowed out of their beds, here they could sit and play card games or watch tely. No football, [soccer to my American friends] or contact sports allowed. Just generally trying to relax, if one can do this in a hospital.  

This one does remind me of the time in 1966.

I remember my mother bringing me in and getting me admitted, shown to the ward and eventually to my bed. Mother promised me she would visit, and she was true to her words. The first couple of days I was not allowed out of bed except to visit the toilet, so I often did this, the nurse must have thought I had another problem. Over the course of the week my arms and body were covered in all sorts of test substances. Peanut, fish, chicken, butters and cheeses, milk, and dairy products, chocolate. Animal related stuffs, dog and cat fur, and saliva. Farm animals cows and pigs, and all sorts of plant extracts. Each one was dabbed onto skin and covered and left for twenty four hours. I looked like a spotty dick pudding, or should I say ‘dick’ covered in small plasters all along my arms and over my chest, lucky I was a hairless 14 year old. Can you imagine what it would have been like pulling off all those plasters. Well guess what, results were ‘inconclusive’. That is a fabulous word and widely used in the medical world. I told them about feathers and eventually they found an extract and tested, and yes, it ballooned and said. ‘hey this boy is allergic’.                                                                 For other tests I had so much blood taken I was surprised I had any left. Can you imagine or remember the size of needles in those days. I cannot stand needles today, and man! did I hate them in those days. Some needles were like trying to shove scaffolding tubes inyo my arm.  Again I was given lots of advice and suggestions but results inconclusive.

Previous to all this my mother taught me how to play ‘Crib’ a game played with cards and a cribbage board.As shown.  51qSs6fBFvL._SX300_    Back in the ward I was now aloud to walk about and started talking to other inmates. All older people, grown ups to me then, and in the leisure room they often played this game. Eventually I was asked if I knew how to play and if I would like to join in. I did and won all my games. Glad they were light hearted about it, the small competition they held daily I also won. In fact I never lost a game, and I became a hero in their eyes. Crib Champion of Lymo Hospital. oh yes oh yes!

I am making light of this but at the time I did not find it amusing, I remember how scared I was. I had been a regular to hospital visits and stays but this scared me most. Not knowing what to expect. I was released after a week and it proved ‘Inconclusive’  

‘ECZEMA’

Types are as  below.  Like most Asthmatics, Eczema and Asthma went hand in hand. I suffered greatly, I think Atopic, but not sure,  up until the age of 10 – 11. My small body was completely covered in the rash. I was bandaged all over and smeared with oily ointments. As I got older it healed slowly but I did continue  to have it on my joints mostly. Inside my elbows, under my arms and back of my knees. Terribly itchy and it was like being  tortured trying not to scratch, which I did rather a lot. It was a mess and I did not look very pretty. I was very lucky, however not to scar. Again my mother was my Angel 

Atopic – The term ‘atopic’ refers to a personal and family tendency to develop eczema, asthma and/or hay fever.

Contact – dermatitis is the most common type of work related skin disease.

Seborrhoeic – Eczema tends to affect the scalp, face, torso and flexures in both adults and children or babies.

Discoid – eczema is very distinct with ‘coin shaped’ discs of eczema the size of a fifty pence piece.

Gravitational – Gravitational eczema (also called varicose or stasis eczema) is common later in life.

Asteatotic – Also known as “eczema cracquelée”, Asteatotic eczema almost always affects people over the age of 60.

Pompholyx –  The key characteristic of pompholyx eczema is blistering that is restricted to the hands and feet.

Dividers6_thumb.jpg

Next post, bombshell of being told diabetic…

AUK-logo

http://www.asthma.org.uk/Default.aspx

http://www.rpharms.com/museum-pdfs/a-asthma.pdf

http://www.eczema.org/

Angel

http://gerrygeelong.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/the-parchment-fantasy-story.html

Publication198_thumb.jpg

Dividers6.jpg

August 27, 2013 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Personal, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I remember going through allegy tests – conclusion, allergic to dog, cat and horse hair, and house dust. So what – live in a cowfield? I was crazy about dogs and cats and then as an adult got involved with horses, so my system just had to learn to cope with it.
    I didn’t have the week in hospital, though. That must have been ghastly.

    Comment by colonialist | August 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes you mentioned dust, well dust mites and all that was and is everybody’s enemy, some more than others… and today it is still Inconclusive’ apart from feathers… tahnks for your comment as always welcome. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. What a horrible experience, especially the huge needles. 😯 At least the crib games made it a little more bearable. 🙂

    Comment by adinparadise | August 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Those needles certainly looked big,, and still am not comfortable, thousands of tests later..I did faint in hospital a few years ago, ’cause they had trouble with finding veins.. welcome and appreciate your words.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. Very interesting to know, thank you for sharing Gerry. Wait…thousands thank for your kindly stopping by. Fantastic!

    Comment by campanulladellaanna | August 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you Della, glad you liked it, and enjoy your site equally so will return.. ;welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2013 | Reply

  4. Too much for anyone to go through, never mind a child. Mothers, if you are fortunate, can be very angelic. 😉 Your mom most certainly wore a halo.

    Comment by firstandfabulous | August 28, 2013 | Reply

    • yes Gemma, my mother was, but aren’t all mothers.. she made things a little easier for me. welcome and appreciated.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2013 | Reply

      • Ah, but it would be a better world if they all were, I would imagine. Let’s consider ourselves the lucky ones.

        Comment by firstandfabulous | August 29, 2013

      • I love the thought…and will do.. 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2013

  5. I hate needles too, and I discovered I had allergies to unusual stuff that I didn’t have when I was younger. I was too young to remember my stay in the hospital but I don’t like being in there either. I loved your story, it was very entertaining. Love the musical choice, too. Have a great weekend!

    Comment by My Tropical Home | August 29, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you for your lovely words and so appreciate it,, my allergies were lucky enough not too bad, not many people I knew, and how bad they be to them.. welcome and thank you. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2013 | Reply

  6. It’s good to know that you got better over time. Reactions and allergies could really be uncomfortable and even life threatening most times. I can’t remember having any of such, but I can imagine what it feels like, from the little I’ve seen. Lovely post, my honourable friend!

    Comment by teeceecounsel | August 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you Teecee, your words are always soothing and welcoming and enjoy reading,, welcome and appreciated..

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 30, 2013 | Reply

  7. […]  https://cobbies69.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/luck-punished-or-just-a-man-2/ […]

    Pingback by Luck, Punished or Just a Man ‘#3′ « Restawyle | September 2, 2013 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

