Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Elizabeth Cotten.


Brocks Music Shed

Saturday 28th September 2013

Iconic American Artist

Elizabeth Cotten  File:Elizabeth Cotten.jpg

Musician

Elizabeth “Libba” Cotten was an American blues and folk musician, singer, and songwriter. A self-taught left-handed guitarist, Cotten developed her own original style. Wikipedia

Born: January 5, 1895, Carrboro, North Carolina, United States

Died: June 29, 1987, Syracuse, New York, United States

Last albumShake Sugaree

AlbumsFolksongs and Instrumentals With GuitarElizabeth Cotten Live!Shake SugareeShake Sugaree, Volume Two

Awards: Grammy Award for Best Ethnic or Traditional Folk Recording

 

for more info  –

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Cotten

http://www.folkways.si.edu/explore_folkways/elizabeth_cotten.aspx

cooltext1179080179BMS2

cropped-coollogo_com-1028525.jpg

View original post

September 30, 2013 - Posted by | Personal

10 Comments »

  1. What an adorable, beautiful, talented woman. Determined about that instrument! Good for her! Thanks, gerry. 🙂

    Comment by firstandfabulous | September 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Gemma it pleases me that you liked her,, and yes she was a great talent..welcome and appreciated 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2013 | Reply

  2. Interesting. One who does not figure on my fairly comprehensive Blues collection.

    Comment by colonialist | September 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Well may I say, she should,, she is one of the most talented of all of them.. Thank you and so very welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. Wonderful..! I love banjo’s, what a gift she is..and what a gift she has!
    Thank you for sharing…the music was wonderful…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Comment by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words | October 7, 2013 | Reply

    • She was a very talented lady,,you might know the dueling banjo’s tune,, I recommend it.. maryrose thank you so much for your lovely words ,, welcome and appreciated.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 7, 2013 | Reply

      • I do know it..Ernst Scrubb? and now it escapes me LOLs..Flatt and Scrubbs?
        I wil look it up…Thank you for suggesting ….my Grandmother played the harmonica which always had someone
        bring out the banjo…I gave up playing the accordion eons ago…my father couldn’t stand it, so wasn’t going to happen, but then I was about 9-10ish and I was like most I wanted guitar or drums LOLs..
        my mom plays piano and she said if I could learn the accordion I could play anything…sad it was easier to give into my fathers anger….but then it was easier, I remember well…
        my dream is to play the Cello…my daughter plays the flute….
        see what you have me thinking and remembering cobbie! LOLs..
        I will look the dueling banjo up….Thank you again…
        You have a wonderful evening/day in your neck of the woods…
        Take Care…You Matter…
        )0(
        me

        Comment by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words | October 8, 2013


  4. here is the link for one version,, and maryrose thank you so much for this wonderful comment,, I had a similar thing with my dad,, on the guitar front, but my mother told him to leave me alone,, and still play after all these years and doing gigs for 13 odd years… my mother was the musician,,, she was a pretty special violinist,, and she has passed her violin to me which I still have,, I had done a post on the story,,, again thank you so much for your visit,,, enjoy the tune…

    Comment by cobbies69 | October 8, 2013 | Reply

  5. I really enjoyed this video of the dueling banjos – I’ve never seen it, though I know the music. Thanks!

    Comment by Trish | October 9, 2013 | Reply

    • glad you enjoyed Trish.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | October 9, 2013 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

