Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Nano, Nano for Where Art Thou Nano.


Thursday 28th November 2013

Third time Lucky ??????

My third Nanowrimo attempt, and am I successful or am I kidding myself?

2013 Winner

I have met up with some great people due to Nanowrimo, and supported each other. Especially the Campnano projects because they have a slightly different system. It is this that is all part of the writing enjoyment, coupled with the feeling one is not on their own.

I wonder why I actually do this, because at the end of the day the story will remain on my hard drive saved in a special file titled Nanowrimo. People have sent me their good wishes and congratulations, then ask about my  editing or publishing. But I have no idea, not even sure about the next process or who to do it with. Createspace is just one.  I do enjoy inventing stories, in fact I would say that my story lines and characters and the events that I include are very good and original. I also do all my own research, I do not rely on others to supply info or use as Muses, I can say all my lines come from my own head. However sometimes I wish I did have some one to assist when the mind goes blank.

 My failure is the quality of my writing, I have never been trained etc, apart from a little experience and reading and learning from some of you fabulous writers there is not much else.  I wrote a lot of poetry, [small booklet of 45 poems was published in 1998] in my younger and youthful days, as well as lyrics, of which some were used in songs but many are still sitting in my rather old and tatty song book. All hand written with mistakes and amendments, crossed out lines or words, comments in the margins, we all know about these precious books. 

Self publish, or a publisher, edit the stories, but surely the quality and standard of the words and grammar and proper English, [LOL] are what matters, not the limited descriptions. In my head I can see the scene or the character, but trying to describe it for the reader does not always work, if it does at all. I am not complaining just making a point, this point I believe is the feeling of many others.

My Stories/Novels.

I have written ‘Knight of the Oak’ subtitled ‘King of the Wood’ unfinished and currently on 65,000 words, ‘Birth of the Wizard Prince‘ also unfinished currently 55,000 words. ‘Our Dream‘ subtitled ‘Two Hearts.‘ this was finished,currently 62,000 words. Possibly might delete. The End. And my most recent 2013 challenge ‘The Parchment‘  was completed and on 63,000 words but do have ideas to add to it, a later project. My reason for mentioning this is because I cannot finish projects. The ones that are finished were easily done and fluent in the story lines, but the ones that are unfinished turned into a longer and deeper story.    

 Of course I am not including the short story and poetry projects I have done. The participation in a couple of writing web sites, these keep my imagination alert.

I could praise other writers or poets and say good things and how some maybe an inspiration to me, but in truth why should I, do I see my name being praised by them. I have many writers that I take inspiration from but I do not need to or even want to name drop, but then again maybe I should and people will think I am well in with the right circles. In truth this would be so full of bul…t. I listen and learn from people in my blogging world.

What’eth should thou do’eth with all thy words?  [Don’t answer that I know]

divider5

Christmas story best Don’t forget to look out for the December challenge and Christmas love story Coming soon, book your seat now. I do hope that you enjoy and support the light-hearted feel good story.

cooltext1179080179

thank-you09.jpg

Dividers6.jpg

November 28, 2013 - Posted by | Personal | , , , , , , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on Sitting on the Porch.

    Comment by galan12 | November 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. “My failure is the quality of my writing” This statement is just all wrong. Who are you to judge the quality of your writing? I would not expect the NANO process to produce top quality writing as each chapter will have to be edited. So edit one chapter, email me and I will give you an editor (great rates) – then you may see the quality.
    CONGRATULATIONS – I have not been able thus far but I won’t count out next year!

    Comment by Books & Art - Spirit & Soul - Lesley Fletcher | November 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Hey Lesley, thank you for this comment of support and advice, and might just take up your offer. welcome and appreciated. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 29, 2013 | Reply

      • Yay – it was too late once posted to listen to my own – mind your own business advice.

        Comment by Books & Art - Spirit & Soul - Lesley Fletcher | November 29, 2013

      • Lesley I appreciate what ever you say,,, thank you and welcome.. 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | November 29, 2013

  3. Congrats on producing the goods again!
    Editing is always the bugbear. The most skilled writers still have all sorts of things a good editor will pick up, even after they think it is perfect. One develops a blindness towards some of the obvious things which are missed by spell checkers, such as ‘to’ for ‘too’, and places where the punctuation goes wrong.

    Comment by colonialist | November 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Col’ thank you for this comment, and will indeed take on board what you have said.. as always welcome and appreciated. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 29, 2013 | Reply

  4. Hey, Gerry, I’m really proud of you and for you. And please don’t feel that you “can’t finish” projects. You obviously have done so. I’ve learned from years of writing — and teaching writing — that sometimes projects need time to develop in our souls — or even in our experiences — before they can be finished. However, there are some that simply serve as outlets for our creativity and provide a learning experience — or they are even a catharsis for our hurt or grief over something in our lives. We write out the hurt when we write on that project. But those particular projects really have no need to be finished. And then there are also some projects that, even though we started them with ideas that were very alive, have actually died a very natural death. Those projects were not things that really had a future to begin with. However, there are almost always parts of those projects that you can take hold of and use to begin brand new projects that do really have a life that will keep growing and bring you to a conclusion. I hope this makes sense. Mainly what I’m saying is that there are all kinds of reasons for writing and all kinds of writing projects. Not every one needs to be “completed,” in the normal sense of that word.

    Concerning the editing of your work, it reminds me of a conversation I had with students in my most recent writing class. One student in particular has special problems that affect her ability to write stories in a “polished” form. She is very creative and has a real gift for writing, but because she is dyslexic and has some other problems that affect how she relates in written words, she felt she could never be a writer. Her questions about that led to a discussion with the whole class, and I told them this: Writing is creating. When you have a gift for creating stories, you don’t throw that gift away or waste it just because you have a problem — whether physical or educational — with the MECHANICS of writing. You create your story, and then you hire an editor to catch all the mistakes and help you polish the story. Professional writers do that all the time. Now, of course, one can spend only so much money on that — depending on a person’s income. But often college students majoring in English are looking for extra income and will be willing to take on a job like that for a very reasonable fee. And most of the time, they are good at catching and correcting anything that disturbs the flow of the work. The reason is that they LOVE working with words and making them sound great. If they are English majors — especially if they are focusing on writing classes — they are people who really CARE that a written passage SOUNDS RIGHT. They are often your best bet.

    As far as professional publishers are concerned, I don’t know about your country, but over here almost all the publishing houses have either sold out to companies that are not focused on producing good books or they have formed big conglomerates with other publishers. Either way, they are focused only on the bottom line — money. For that reason, they have let a lot of editors go — those editors have become agents — and publishers will no longer accept an author unless they go through an agent. A few new authors get taken on, but not nearly as many as there used to be.

    However, using something like Creatspace can get your book out there — on the biggest marketplace in the world (Amazon) — and start drawing attention to it. Because it costs you virtually nothing (compared to vanity publishers who charge enormous amounts of money but help you market very, very little), you are getting a lot of good for very little investment. Very often those books start to sell well, and then that sales number opens the door to some of the established publishers being interested in your work. Two of the biggest selling authors of this century in the U. S. started out publishing their own books and were later picked up by some of the top publishers in the country. So if I were you, I would look for a reasonably-priced editing assistant and go for publishing through Createspace or one of the other similar online programs that offer a market as well as a finished product. That way you will be off to a strong start and can go on from there.

    However, you may find that you really do like the fact that you are the one IN CONTROL of every part of your book and that you get a lot more money for each one sold than you would from a mainline publisher who will never pay you more than 10% royalties — and some pay as low as 7 or 8%. Of course if you become a “best-selling” author, then the royalty fee goes up a little. But you still have very little control of your book itself while you’re in contract to them.

    Just some thoughts for you to mull over.

    Comment by sandraconner | November 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Sandra, oh my, how can I reply to this wonderful lengthy comment. But your words of wisdom are so meaningful to me. I have copied and pasted them into my Parchment notes. for future reference. Createspace is fairly popular with the writing fraternity and I did set up an account on my first Nano,, but never finished the story as mentioned here. But I do have a finished one now. So might give it another try….
      I am always truly honoured with your responses and support thank you very much indeed. welcome and appreciated. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 29, 2013 | Reply

  5. Good luck with your entry, I can’t get past 1,000 words 🙂

    Comment by Harry | November 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you Harry, and as you can see I have been given plenty of quality advice.. welcome my friend. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 29, 2013 | Reply

  6. With life’s craziness, I haven’t been over to read the rest of your story! Congratulations on finishing your book. Now, I can’t wait to finish it 🙂

    Comment by Rob | November 29, 2013 | Reply

    • Rob it is nice to see you visit and comment,, thank you for this, welcome and appreciated. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 30, 2013 | Reply

  7. Don’t put your writing down. Each of us has their own style, and when I look at the writing on WordPress I find the quality varies tremendously, as does style. While I may consider someone’s story boring, or whatever, someone else finds it fascinating. You sell yourself short by not publishing, but, of course, it is your decision. The bottom line, each of us write first for ourselves, and others secondly. I think it sad that you write four novels that will never be shared. As long as you enjoy yourself, and have fun participating in NaNo events, you’ve won. Congratulations on finishing another NaNo! It sure ain’t easy. I ended at 26,000 this year, though I am still writing I hope to finish by the end of January.

    Comment by appletonavenue | December 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words,,as others here have said, I will try to maintain a positive outlook, it is with comments and support like yours that helps me so much.. very welcome and appreciated. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 1, 2013 | Reply

      • Writing is such a solitary endeavor, it’s hard to be honest with ourselves but still be objective. We may think our work is brilliant or drivel, but we never know for sure until someone else reads it.

        Comment by appletonavenue | December 2, 2013

      • So true, but it can be hard to remember at times. welcome… 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | December 2, 2013

  8. You’ve certainly written more novels than I have. I did Nano once, but tbh I thought it was doing it for the sake of it. Oh and I cheated of course 🙂 I started with something I had already been drafting for a while.

    Regarding publishing and editing. I find errors in books really glaring. It drives me up the wall, but I spent years proof-reading when I was a journalist and working in PR. I always enjoyed it. I’m often entertained when I read the blurb at the front of books that ‘thanks my wonderful editor blah blah) and I then go on to read and find the errors.

    Anyway, if you want me to look at a chapter, send one over and I’ll give you a view and suggested amendments for free. Any more and there would obv be a charge, but it would at least give you an idea.

    I’m currently reviewing a self-published book for someone, and so far I’ve not found any errors. I’ll be writing about it on my blog at some point ie when I’ve finished.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | December 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you KJ, might actually take you up on the offer, maybe after Xmas when all has quietened down a bit.. As my post expresses I just enjoy it,,, some times the writing is better than others, this latest one proved quite easy story wise. I think my stories are good, like Bob Dylan, whose songs sound better sung by other singers… so yeh have put your offer in my files for later.. thanks and welcome as always…. Appreciated….

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 3, 2013 | Reply

      • Whatever, you’re welcome. Just email something across when you feel like, say what you think you want, and I’ll tell you what I think is needed.

        Comment by roughseasinthemed | December 3, 2013

      • will do, and thanks again for this. 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | December 3, 2013

  9. Congratulations Gerry. It’s so obvious to me that you have a book (or several) in you aching to come out into public light. I can’t add much to Sandra’s comments. She was very thorough.

    There is an online tool that helps with basic sentence structure (not grammar) and suggestions to make your work flow better. The basic version is free. Here is the link: https://www.autocrit.com/editing/free-wizard/ I joined and use the full service. It really helps you look at your manuscript.

    As for the grammar part, finding someone good at that who is willing to help you for free is often tricky, but it can be done. Put a call out there on your blog. Writers are often willing to exchange services–you help them with something and they’ll help you. I haven’t found a good computer-based grammar checker. People are still the best way to go. But even if you hire someone to do a few chapter and have them point out your most common mistakes, you can then pick them out in the rest of your manuscript–thus saving you money.

    There is a site called “Editors and Predators” that lists all kinds of people in the business of editing and providing other services to writers. The site also comes with reviews from people who have used the services of these people, so you can decide if they are right for you. You have to go to each of their web sites to check them out, but at least it is a place to get started. Here is the link. http://pred-ed.com/

    In the final analysis, you will know if you have a story worth publishing. Ask yourself, “What is the compelling question I want my story –or characters in it– to answer?” If the question is answered, then the story is finished. I got that be it wisdom from The Writer’s Digest, A WONDERFUL resource fro writers. http://www.writersdigest.com/

    So there you go–more info than you probably wanted! When you’re ready for thinking about publishing, let me know. I’ve got ideas about that, too!

    Love, Lorna

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | December 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Lorna what can I say apart from a big thank you for the effort you have put into commenting and offering so much valuable advice. I have noted the web sites and will definitely check them out. and keep you updated.. As for publishing I would love to but not sure if I have the quality..or confidence more to the point. again you have encouraged me.

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 3, 2013 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

