Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Happy Bunny-Funny.


Wednesday 5th March 2014.

This is my fourth and final poem that I wrote while in Southampton General Hospital. I hope you will enjoy it. I wrote them from my true feelings at the time. Enjoy!

Happy Bunny-Funny

←◊→

Cannot be a happy bunny,

Cannot always be that funny

Smiling becomes harder each day

Laughing, oh man no way.

The audience faces are blank.

Cheeks and chins just sank,

Smiling no, you must refrain.

Humour forbidden never again,

No jokes not a word spoken,

Lying still waiting to be woken.

Every now and then a smile breaks through.

‘Get out! get out you’ someone shouts.

This way of life we can now mourn.

Laughter and joy once again born.

We can now be a happy bunny

We can now always be funny.

Gaa/C  Dec 2013.

Whilst in hospital, ward D2 Coronary Care unit.

December 28th 2013.

thank-you09.jpg2014 signature

March 5, 2014 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Humourous, Music, New Forest, Personal, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. I hope you are well now Gerry.

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | March 5, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes getting a lot stronger thank you ,, getting there slowly. welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 7, 2014 | Reply

  2. Lovely poem Gerry and glad to hear your feeling better, if you would like I will put them into “Poets Corner” for you.

    Comment by Harry | March 5, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Harry, am lot better now, Yes that would be great Harry help yourself Always welcome and thanks again. 🙂

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 7, 2014 | Reply

  3. Hey, Gerry, I like the sound of the last lines of this one. It’s beginning to sound like the old Gerry. But I’m wondering if I missed some. I read only one other poem that you wrote while in the hospital. Did you post more than two?

    Comment by sandraconner | March 5, 2014 | Reply

  4. Glad to hear you’re home now.

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks so much and yes am now building my strength quite well… Welcome always.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 7, 2014 | Reply

  5. Very thought provoking Gerry. I like the transition from the first two lines to the last two.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | March 6, 2014 | Reply

    • Hey thank you Kj, appreciate your view as always,, you know me I love being a little controversial, or is it plain nuttiness or sarcasm.. a bit of both I guess. Welcome always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 7, 2014 | Reply

  6. So hopeful and delightful. I’ve got my “Happy Scrappy” and you’ve got your “Funny Bunny”!!! 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | March 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Things are so much better now… I’ll keep my eye open for your Happy Scrappy… smiling Lorna thanks welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 8, 2014 | Reply

  7. Gerry, sorry to see you were hospitalized. Nice job on the poem. I hope you are back to your chipper self by now. Thank you for looking in on my blog and “liking” my posts. Margie

    Comment by latebloomerbuds | March 9, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Margie, am a lot stronger now still having to be careful.. getting there though.. You are welcome,, I have had a few problems with my email alerts, sorry if I missed any.. Welcome always 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 10, 2014 | Reply

  8. […] Gerry […]

    Pingback by Happy Bunny-Funny | Poet's Corner | May 3, 2014 | Reply

  9. See here Gerry. http://poetscornerblog.wordpress.com/

    Comment by Harry | May 3, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you again Harry, much appreciated.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 3, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

