Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Hindsight, if Only!


Tuesday 18th March 2014.

16566Hindsight.. 

During an interview with Gerry he revealed some secret thoughts. Thoughts and feelings that he kept to himself, even from family and doctor. Below is some of the thoughts he revealed to us.

As most of you know I have been in hospital recently, and no I am not going to bore with more from my experience whilst in hospital. But I am going to say I was diagnosed as Diabetic just about 2 years ago, my doesn’t time fly. All my knowledge of the disease was mostly learnt whilst in hospital, the nurses and the diabetic technician was happy to talk to me. I was being tested daily, at least twice, but usually more. My diabetes is Type 2 and is controlled by diet and pills. My latest doctors visit and tests I wastold ‘my diabetes is well controlled and within the limits expected. Oh and my retinal scans have returned clear.

However for a long period, from being told about being diabetic, I was taking antacid tablets regularly, almost daily. I was getting heart burn rather too much, but sucking a tablet cleared it for a while. Naivety I suppose created a problem that came to a head in December 2013. If only I realised what was happening, my stay in hospital I learnt so much. Just for example constant heartburn could be a sign of heart problems. In my case it was. 

Being asthmatic all my life, I have learnt to deal with things and become part of my normal. Not sleeping, well only a few hours nightly..But the past two years I was dozing a lot during the day as well as having my few hours nightly. If I was braver, less naive and talked to the right people, who knows what may have resulted. Maybe I was actually scared to hear the truth. I later became aware of the symptoms and their possible disease or illness. 

I learnt so much while in hospital, like heart burn regularly ie: daily, was a big sign for possible heart problems. I learnt that aches in my arms is also a sign for later heart problems. A man of 60 years with asthma and recently diabetic becomes a high risk. My doctor told me I now became a high risk patient, I would have to be regularly monitored. On a loser it seems to me. So all in all I was rather stupid not to tell my doctor about these happenings as and when they happened. I buried my head in the proverbial sand, frightened of what I might learn. I nearly paid for it with my life. I have to thank my doctor for her insight to take a blood test and ask for certain tests.

Precautions…

Lets Re-cap.

1. Constant heart burn, occurring daily or every couple of days. Remedy– seek doctors advice.  

2.Pains or aches in one’s arm or arms, seemingly losing strength. Remedy – seek doctors advice.

3. Tiredness, having no energy, and dozing or sleeping during the day. Remedy – seek doctors advice.

4. Keeping check on one’s health especially if one suffers from Asthma, Diabetes, or any other ailments.                                                            

Remedy– have regular check ups with your doctor.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

To sum up, if I was a little more aware and possibly not so naive, maybe just maybe things could have been averted, and my life would be so different. I am hoping this post will at the very least help some one somewhere..IN HINDSIGHT.

http://www.bhf.org.uk/heart-health/treatment/coronary-bypass-surgery.aspx

http://www.diabetes.co.uk/index.html

http://www.diabetes.org.uk/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diabetes_UK

Restawyle

thank-you09.jpg

2014 signature

March 13, 2014 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Interest, Love, News, Personal, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. For some reason, men are reluctant to go to the doctors to seek or ask for help, they are good at telling others to go, that’s my view of me 🙂

    Comment by Harry | March 18, 2014 | Reply

    • You are so right Harry,, in my case it was naivety.. but I was seeing doctors regularly. 😉 Welcome..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2014 | Reply

  2. Good advice, Gerry. Take good care and work on being well, on an on going basis. 🙂

    Comment by firstandfabulous | March 18, 2014 | Reply

    • Will do so Gemma, learnt so much in the past 3 months. Thank you and welcome. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2014 | Reply

  3. Sometimes, we just feel invincible. Excellent advice.

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 19, 2014 | Reply

    • I suddenly realised how vulnerable we really are, living taken out of our hands is scary. Welcome and thank you. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2014 | Reply

  4. Hope you are much better now.

    Comment by jmgoyder | March 19, 2014 | Reply

    • Am a lot better now and growing more so.. thank you,, and, Jules, wishing all your end is good. welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 19, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

