Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Why Can’t We Be Friends? (Still)


Wednesday 9th April 2014. 

Deleted the other post due to its look. Sorry this one is the way it should look.

Daily Prompt: Why Can’t We Be Friends?

Do you find it easy to make new friends? Tell us how you’ve mastered the art of befriending a new person.    http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/prompt-cant-we-be-friends/

I am not a person who makes friends easily, I am a shy retiring type. I would go as far as to say I am an introvert. The type of person that no one actually notices I am present. It is hard to maintain friendships these days, whether it be the next door neighbour.[so to speak] Or friends further a field. What with all the social media sites ie: Messenger all versions, Yahoo, MSN Google. Of course we cannot forget Skype, having no choice if one was using MSN,  Hotmail etc now having to use Outlook and Skype. Anyway it is easy to write to each other and it is so easy for people to misunderstand words. It is not quite the same as reading and seeing facial expressions. Not all video links works very well for people to talk.

It seems, however that it is easy to fall out with friends, mostly because of misunderstandings. My friend in America, I now say friend loosely, has decided to not talk anymore, and my brother has become a distant non talker. It is all due to being treated badly. Nowadays my friends are limited to musicians, but because of the distances between people one does not visit that much. Mostly meet up at folk clubs or other venues, or open mics. Communication via emails or messenger is now limited in case people mis-read what is being said. Can be similar to comments on blogs.

The video is for all friends that do not wish to talk anymore.

2014 signature1

porch3

Restawyle

April 10, 2014 - Posted by | Personal

14 Comments »

  1. I was listening to Jackson B. the other day and now you post this. It was a real pick me up, Gerry. Thanks. I’m sure you have all the friends you need. Nice person like yourself. 🙂

    Comment by firstandfabulous | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • Maybe it is the hippy connection 😉 So glad you enjoyed it again..Thank you Gemma for your kind words always appreciated and welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. Funny how people can get miffed at silly little things.
    *grin* I have written a highly educational book based on what a good idea it is to befreind something that intends to eat you …

    Comment by colonialist | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • Sorry about this comment I found it in my spam… Thank you and I think I know what you mean..So easily done these days. welcome always 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 14, 2014 | Reply

      • You also check spam infrequently, I take it.

        Comment by colonialist | April 14, 2014

      • just lately it seems my filter pulls a few wrong ‘uns.

        Comment by cobbies69 | April 15, 2014

  3. On the whole people tend to be less social I find – and, as you suggest, less forgiving of what may be seen as insults.

    Comment by Colline | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • Even video links can be a let down.. But words are so easily misunderstood.. Thanks again Colline,, Welcome always..;)

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  4. The video doesn’t work in my country. 😦 Perhaps I’ll be able to find it some other way.

    Comment by Trish | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  5. You say it as I also feel it! Why do you have to keep up with so called friends if they are rude to you – they don’t like to listen to what your ideas or thoughts are, only their meaning is all that counts! That’s not friendship

    Comment by scrapydo | April 11, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you and yes, it is easy to be brash or even rude over the internet social medias etc…Welcome as always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 11, 2014 | Reply

      • 😀

        Comment by scrapydo | April 11, 2014


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

