Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Butterflies. {short story}


Thursday 28th August 2014.

From an original idea from a good friend and exceptional blogger and writer herself.  Pop over and say hello. Carol B Sessums at adjustingyourfocus. – http://adjustingyourfocus.wordpress.com/

The Butterflies.

Flight-of-the-Butterflies-H

Words 1106.

It always started off with her stepping outdoors, walking a few steps into her garden. A large orange and black butterfly would flutter around her head, then land on her shoulder. She would walk a few more steps then a blue one would flutter in front of her face and then settle on her other shoulder. She never attempted to wave them away, she always welcomed them. Even though she was walking she never moved any further away from her back door.                                        

The next time the same would happen but now four butterflies would appear and settle on her shoulder. Each time she would then wake up, sweating all over, her forehead soaking her pillow, and her bed wear had to be changed. She could not understand why this happened because the dream was a pleasant one, no threat or horrid visions. The sunny day and butterflies gave her a sense of security and serenity, a feeling of love. On this summers day these gorgeous creatures were always visible in her garden. This day she noticed something that was different to her dream, and confused her a little.

She did not dream this dream for a while, the nights passed and nothing to be remembered. She even researched what dreams mean, but for this particular dream she was unsuccessful in finding any answers. As the nights passed and no more dreams she eventually forgot about them. But the night of the eve of her mothers birthday, she was planning to go and place some flowers on her grave, she did this every month. She was very close to her mother and tears would flow every time she thought of her, finding it hard to let go or move on. Laying in bed thinking of her day tomorrow, many pictures drifting in and out of her mind until she eventually drifted off to sleep.  The sleep was restless, fidgeting and snoring causing her to keep waking, unfinished dreams causing minor distress and hitting a point for her to waken with a start. Again sweating all over and feeling very hot, she could see the full moon in the sky casting its bright golden glow upon the earth. She lay looking out her window staring at the moon, imagining people living on it. She became fixated on it, hypnotised, being in a trance waiting for someone to click their finger to bring her back to the living world. But of course it never happened.

Butterflies fluttered about her face, first two orange and black ones then two pale blue. She did not flinch or try to brush them away, she did not mind them  near her face. Two more appeared followed by two more, the appearance of more until there were hundreds maybe thousands. All fluttering about her face and body, circling her in a whirlwind of colour. She noticed she was standing next to an apple tree, which appeared to be in her garden. Everything else was the same, she could see the chicken run, the gooseberry bushes but there was no apple tree. Yet here one was, bearing fruit, nice perfectly formed red apples. She turned around and saw that her house was not to be seen, she was only a few feet from her back door, but now the house was gone.  The butterflies eased away from circling her, forming a cloud of colour in front of her. Fluttering, hundreds corkscrewing, a mass of delicate wings tightening, no particular shape, just a cloud of colour, continuing  to spread out and up and down until they resembled a shape of a human being. All fluttering now in a constant shape for a short while, as she watched a figure taking shape, all the butterflies melting, shaping slowly until a person, another woman was seen standing only a few feet away. She took shape, her face becoming recognisable, the vision of the woman in front of her, not believing her eyes. “Mother, it can’t be, is it really you?” she whispered. Then the woman spoke.

“Hello luv, don’t be afraid, it is really me your mother. I have only a few moments.” She was about to rush to her mother and throw her a hug, but her mother noticed this and abruptly spoke firmly with a raised voice, “No luv, don’t try to touch me, I will just vanish and you will be hurt and might even join me in the world of the dead.” She stepped back a little.

“I want you know, I left you in a hurry, beyond my control I did not want to, I had no choice in the matter. But I want you know that I love very much  and hope that me being here now will relieve any guilt you may have. I have heard your words and felt your tears and because of this I have been allowed to come to you and tell you not worry, none was your fault. Most of all my luv’ I will always be by your side, looking over you. You may not see me but I assure you I will be there for you.” Her mother then held out her hand, her image flickering a little, “Don’t touch me, just hold out your hand I have something for you. They were interred with me and I have no use for them so you just as well have them back and make use of them.” She then dropped some jewels into her daughters hand. A wedding ring and an engagement ring and a bracelet, not just any bracelet it was a charm bracelet. All the charms were collected over the years of her life and the holidays she had been. All with some history. “Thank you mum, but it was not necessary.”

“They are of no use to me, you just as well have them and do with them as you wish.” Mother and daughter stood looking at each other, the daughter shedding tears mother would have if she could. The silence was broken by her mother, “Sorry luv’ but it is time for me to go, remember I am here with you always. I am being called, remember I always love you.” they both held out their hands, not touching but symbolising their embrace. As quickly as she said goodbye her mother burst into a mass of coloured butterflies, blue and orange and white all fluttering madly eventually dispersing, all but two, the two on her shoulder, the orange and black on one and blue on the other.

She looked at both butterflies in turn and whispered “Thank you mum, luv you to.” the two butterflies then fluttered away. She could now see her house and where her mother had stood the apple tree now stands full of perfect fruit.

Gaa/C© August 2014

Enjoy Thank you.

Restawyle

 

August 28, 2014 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Humourous, Interest, Love, New Forest, Personal, Poetry, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. So sad and yet full of hope.

    Comment by Colline | August 28, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks Colline,, it is magical moments for me.. welcome always… 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 28, 2014 | Reply

  2. Intriguing story, Gerry. And very sweet. And I will definitely go over and visit Carol’s blog.

    Comment by sandraconner | August 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Sandra,,, it was weird for me to write this one.. welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2014 | Reply

  3. Very creative and lovely Gerry.

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | August 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Gilly, so pleased you enjoyed it.. welcome always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2014 | Reply

  4. Aw, Gerry. This is such a beautiful story. I’m so honored I offered some inspiration. What talent you have to weave your words into the hearts of others. I cried. Tears of joy and of pain. It so made me feel the loss of my mother (even though she’s still alive) and the real loss of my dad. That butterfly that kept hopping on to say hello made me think of my dad, like maybe it was his way of letting me know he’s here with us all the time. Funny. You must’ve been reading into my spirit, because this story touched me in such a deep way. You have such a talent with your use of words, my friend. Love ya, Squish. Hugs to you and your girls. 😉

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | August 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you so very much squidge, I think the actual story is my way of saying I miss my mother like you do your dad…Thank you very much for the inspiration in the first place,, love you and the kind words welcome always.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2014 | Reply

      • I know, we so miss our special loved ones. It’s so hard when someone that close to our heart leaves us, and so unexpectedly, so fast. I was feeling your pain as I read it, too. I know how close you and your mom were. I can’t truly imagine how painful it is to lose a mom. They take care of you, raise you and love you like no other. My heart aches for you and I pray your mom visits you in your dreams. Hugs to you, Squish. 😉

        Comment by Carol B Sessums | August 30, 2014

      • It has been a long time, but she still lives with me,,, a shame I have not the same feelings for my dad.. welcome always. 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | August 30, 2014

  5. Reblogged this on adjustingyourfocus and commented:
    Check out my friend’s (Gerry) blog. He weaves such a wonderful story with his words. His stories always bring me to tears of joy or sadness and sometimes fills me with suspense. Sometimes, they haunt me. Check him out. And I’m so honored that I inspired one of his stories. How cool is that?!

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | August 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks so very much for this and your honouring me and my post.. welcome . 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | August 29, 2014 | Reply

  6. Such a beautiful story! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful stories with us. I want to recognize your blog with a Very Inspirational Blogger Award as you know I’ve been a fan/friend for years. No obligation to participate, but if you manage the time and you would like to, head over to http://adjustingyourfocus.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/made-my-whole-week/ and you will find the instructions there, although I know you’ve done this before. 😉

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 5, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you very much have commented on your blog.. bear with me for post.. will add your name and blog to my awards page.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 5, 2014 | Reply

      • No hurry, my friend. Just know I love you and your blog. 😉

        Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 5, 2014

  7. Reblogged this on Sitting on the Porch.

    Comment by galan12 | September 6, 2014 | Reply

  8. It’s sad but not. It feels like a kind of release.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | September 8, 2014 | Reply

    • It sort of is something of a release. strange how this story came about. thanks and welcome.

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 8, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

