Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101 Unlock What?


Tuesday 16th September 2014.

Writing 101: Unlock the Mind

Welcome to Writing 101. In this inaugural assignment, let’s loosen up and just write. We’re so excited you’ve joined us — let’s get started!

Unlock the Mind.

Writing 101 Sept 2014

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to hand-write for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Words – 469

Here we go, starting Now!.

How does one unlock ones mind, this has been a puzzlement to me. So on reflection I have come up with this nonsense, thinking of everything and nothing. What would be interesting to you my readers, and of course with so many different people with different views and characters it would be difficult to satisfy everyone. So this makes it difficult to find a happy medium. I sat last night thinking of all sorts of subjects and titles and not actually coming up with anything positive.

So just for this first project, task or prompt I have decided to ramble on about something and nothing. This I am very good at by the way. I have a few interests and hobbies but decided to stay away from. Guitar playing is not for everyone, photographs of the New Forest is also not for everyone. I have also decided to make this first subject into a short micro story like I did on my last 101 challenges back in June. I will start writing the next prompts into stories as and when I feel it suits my unlocked mind. Also I must keep my words to an amount of 500 – 800 words, this does seem to about the amount that people will stop and actually read rather just click a like button or not bother at all. Of course we all want to be read and liked by our followers and even better if we can read a comment, preferably a complimentary or constructive comment. One of encouragement helps a great deal, this is what we feed off, well I do.

This 101 project is my way of prepping for the Nanowrimo in November, because I intend to write more short stories, ranging from 800-1200 words, posting most, they will become part of my Porch mini stories that I am currently compiling.

It looks as though my twenty minutes is about up, I hope this was not too messy and made some sort of sense to you, if not then never mind I can only get better. “I hope”, I said with a smile on my face. For now I say chao’ until the next challenge hey! only joking we can only handle so much fun. Tick tock tick tock the alarm goes off. Time to stop.

Gerry A/C Sept 2014

Restawyle

hippie-g.jpg

 

 

September 16, 2014 - Posted by | Artistic., Ghostly, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, Personal, Uncategorized

20 Comments »

  1. That gave me a smile G. I admire you for taking part in all these challenges and for nanowrimo, once was enough for me. Good luck with all your projects.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | September 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Kj, I like doing these particular because their prompts unlock my mind, what the drugs have left in working order.. welcome..

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 16, 2014 | Reply

  2. I like the style of free writing – you are often surprised what what you unlock.

    Comment by Colline | September 16, 2014 | Reply

    • I like this as well, because I wrote nothing as to what I planned. Fun it was and more to come.. thank you and welcome Colline.

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 16, 2014 | Reply

  3. Well done. Free as a bird and soaring high. 🙂

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | September 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Hopefully my wings will last out. Welcome always.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  4. Well done, it isn’t easy is it? 🙂

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | September 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Not easy and not what I set out to write, I went off on a tangent. but fun 😉 welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  5. I know I’m never ever going to find the time for one of these challenges. Probably just as well 🙂

    Comment by restlessjo | September 16, 2014 | Reply

    • They are not for everyone, I am just competitive and enjoy them.. thanks and welcome Jo. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  6. No, it was not “too messy.” I enjoyed it. And I loved your conclusion.

    Comment by sandraconner | September 17, 2014 | Reply

    • I am glad you thought it was not too messy,, it felt like it at time. welcome Sandra thanks. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  7. […] This is a Writing 101 challenge “Unlock the Mind” presented by my friend, Gerry. […]

    Pingback by Rambling or Poetry? | adjustingyourfocus | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  8. I didn’t realize this was from The Daily Post. Ha! I linked you also. I believe this is my first go with Write 101. Not great but I tried. I like writing prompts and timed writing, as well. It trains our brain/consciousness to be in the moment and productive. I always enjoy what you have to say. I love when people just say what’s on their mind and you have a great way with conversation, always making me feel we are chatting over tea. 🙂

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 17, 2014 | Reply

    • I did this challenge in June and loved it,, 20 prompts in all, I made everyone into short stories and this hopefully the same, but have only done one story, out of the three,, using for prep on Nano.. thanks Carol, love the chats as well long may it continue.. welcome always.

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  9. I’ve joined this challenge too. Am I crazy, or what? I’m already behind. This is a fun one, though. You get to watch your “monkey mind” swing from branch to branch! Good job! 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | September 17, 2014 | Reply

    • I have just caught up and done my third,, music one easy for me.. but I did it in June and enjoyed it all.. and hoping this time will equal it. The challenges are not of the norm, making it good.. welcome always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  10. I quit trying to please the world a long time ago, Gerry. You’re a smart man to do the same. What was it Shakespeare said? “To thine own self be true” … Good advice. There are many times I wished I’d taken it. LOL. Live and learn.

    Comment by orples | November 8, 2014 | Reply

    • I’m afraid I do have that habit, little less so nowadays but once in awhile it creeps in… it also helps greatly when I read comments like yours with a show of support.. welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 9, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

