Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101 #3 Songs.


Wednesday 17th September 2014.#

Write 101 #3 

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-writing-practice/

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant you.

For your Twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping – and build a writing habit.

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you.

 

My simple but enjoyable piece for this one. Hope you all like my choice.

Colours.

Sunshine of Your Love.

Amerita/Sense of Direction.

Words 276

One of my first encounters in music was learning how to play Colours by Donovan. Donovan was one of my favourite acoustic guitarists and singer songwriter, I actually like most of his songs. It was also one of my first songs I played in public at a folk club I used to frequent. It can be played by tuning the guitar to G or as I used to play it in normal tuning. I still play it today but not as much.

We come to Sunshine of Your Love by Cream, super group consisting of Eric Clapton, my favourite guitarist of all. Jack Bruce, vocals and bass, a man with a very unique sounding voice and easily recognisable. Lastly Ginger Baker drummer or drummers, in his day he was rated as the best in the world. Could be argued depending on style of music. Buddy Rich was equal to him in the jazz world, he and Baker were friends and played together on several projects. This band was my most favourite of all and still sends shivers across my neck. Especially listening to it for this post. I learnt how to play this as well and played in one of the bands I was in.

Sense of Direction by Climax blues Band just blew my mind the first time I heard it. The melody was catchy the lyrics was great but as a guitarist myself, what impressed me was the guitar riff and solo. Climax Blues Band, and English band have done some fabulous tunes but this particular song, also name of their Album was very impressive and imprinted on my mind. Even today I am still in love with it.

 Gerry A. Sept 2014

Restawyle

September 17, 2014 - Posted by | Artistic., Humourous, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, Personal, Poetry, Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Thanks, I now feel very old! 🙂

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | September 17, 2014 | Reply

    • I look at it that we have so much fun longer than most .. hope you enjoyed.. 😉 welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 17, 2014 | Reply

  2. Great selection of songs Gerry – My favourite of your choice is Sunshine of Your Love 🙂

    Comment by 2e0mca | September 18, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks Martin, they were something special in my mind atleast…pleased you enjoyed welcome 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 18, 2014 | Reply

  3. I’m a sunshine fan too (and most of Cream’s music)

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | September 18, 2014 | Reply

    • I missed their farewell, but saw live transmissions in cinemas around the country.. welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 18, 2014 | Reply

  4. Those were great! The last one especially brought back a lot of memories. I started seeing flashbacks to Starsky and Hutch. 🙂 Did you ever watch that over there?

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 19, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh yes we had Starsky and Hutch and then David Souls singing.. I am pleased they did something for you.. welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 19, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

