Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101 #5 Be Brief [The Letter 1 and 2]


Friday 19th September 2014.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-brevity/

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2clip_image001.gif

 

 This particular challenge I am cheating a little. How I hear you say? Well the answer is, I did this 101 challenge back in June and now realise that all these challenges are a repeat of the June challenges. So far I have managed to do different ones to my last efforts. The three part story I done was called ‘The Magic Violin’ and I automatically thought of my mothers violin but decided to do another story, first was posted yesterday. But this letter challenge has confirmed a repeated challenge so far. At first I was going to post my little short one but decide to write another and this is below. Even shorter but not so good. Enjoy anyway. However I have include my first one if you are interested.

Write 101 Day 5

Words 208

Letter #2

Leaving my neighbours house from six doors down, walking the path to the front gate, I pulled the gate open and as I walked through I noticed an envelope on the ground. A small white envelope, nothing unusual, just a plain envelope with a stamp and a name and address printed on the front. The letter looked a little tattered, edges frayed and a couple of corners open.

I turned it over and read delivery address, “Wow what are the odds on that?” I muttered to myself. The name and address was mine, and I noticed the postmark was two months old. Moving slowly towards home I tore it open with care, and like the address it was printed  and had the name of a company I visited for a job interview. This letter was confirming my appointment and requested me to contact them on return to confirm start date.

Gerry A/C September 2014©

Letter 1 posted back in June.

Words – 288.

It was quiet as I walked the country lane, no vehicles on the road or in the fields. Not even the chirping of a bird was heard, the only sign of life was the bumble bee on the flower, hovering to each in turn. On this summer evening I could feel the warmth of the sun on my face.

It was when I came to the cross road I notice something on the ground, laying on the road in clear sight. I picked it up, an off colour cream envelope, inspection showed it was a rather old envelope, the post mark printed was faint unable to read the town or city name but  I could make the year as 1917.

I read the name and address on the front, I could not believe what I was reading. Surely this is not true, what a coincidence, no it is more than a coincidence, it is fate or could it be good fortune. I opened it and read the words, one page handwriting on both sides. If I understood this letter it was not good news. I had to get it home and let my mother read it, it is what should be done the right thing to do.

 

Mother sat down after reading the letter twice, she opened the page again and read it for a third time. She became very emotional, tears rolled down her cheek, “This letter is from my dad telling my mum what to do if he does not come home. But he was expressing his undying love and thought for her. This was the last we ever heard from him. He was lost in combat.”

Gaa/C© June 2014

Restawyle

September 19, 2014 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Humourous, Interest, Love, New Forest, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. They are both bittersweet and just as good as each other. Each indicates a very different loss in life.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | September 19, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you ,, it just seems strange this 101 is repeating,, so trying to do different.. welcome.

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 19, 2014 | Reply

      • Wasn’t it for people who missed the first one? Not that I take part in any of them 😀

        Comment by roughseasinthemed | September 19, 2014

      • Yes it does mention for new participants and old if so wish,, the 201 coming is for new ….. I will continue on though for the challenge,, try to do an alternative… so far all are different… welcome

        Comment by cobbies69 | September 19, 2014

  2. The first one is my favourite. The second one is too sad, and I don’t wanna be sad. I read the first one while listening to the song, and enjoyed the experience.

    Comment by Trish | September 21, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Trish #2 was based off something my mum said many years ago… welcome…

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 21, 2014 | Reply

  3. I liked both stories. I like the second one best because if words can conjure tears or sadness, for some reason, I find drawn to these more. Not like I enjoy being sad. I guess I just like to read sad stories and sad poetry. I love to laugh but I think it takes even more talent to make someone cry. Well done. And besides, any story that’s haunting, like finding the letter after he was lost in combat, is the coolest thing. To find a letter and read the words after someone went missing or even after they died is a special gift from beyond.

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 22, 2014 | Reply

    • Hey Carol this comment is brill and really pleases me, enjoying the way say is exactly the the reaction I seek, it was goose pimply for me writing it.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 22, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

