Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101 – A Character!!!


Monday 22nd September 2014.

Writing 101: A Character-Building Experience.

Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

The Twist: Turn your post into a character study.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-characters/

#6 A Writing of Fiction

The Narrator.

The audience, of which I was part, sat in full awe and concentration of the man  and his words. He had been talking for only about ten minutes but he had grasped the attention of the audience. I looked about the room and could see it was full which totalled approximately 300 people plus security, and even they looked engrossed and hypnotised.

I came here on the advice of my nurse from my surgery, she said this man was great at uplifting people, and giving truthful advice and help. And after all my recent problems I thought ‘why not?’ so here I am.

I had done a little research in the way of checking his history and watched a few videos. I felt really comfortable with this man, the words and the way he spoke them seemed very genuine to me.  It also looks as though many other people feel the same. Today he had his audience listening with great admiration and respect. This tall and no doubt some ladies might say attractive, with nicely brushed back dark hair and well spoken standing on the stage, he would smile at times groan at others. Facial expressions were as important to him as his words. His kindness came across while talking, telling us all how to approach life, how to smile and be happy. How not to be unhappy or sad, giving scenarios and explaining what we should do if life goes astray.  During his ninety minutes on stage plus breaks he covered the subjects of death, birth, marriages and divorce and the ups and downs of life and how to deal with traumas. He smiled and made everyone believe with just his persona. Pacing the stage back and forth and emphasising parts of his speech. Reacting to his audience, answering questions even inviting one of the audience on stage with him.  His continuous smile warmed people to him, with his calming voice his audience was engrossed in his every word.  At the end of his talk he did a signing of his book, and this told me all. While smiling and giving brief smiles while handing his book over I saw another side to this. My view of him suddenly changed, I walked out of the auditorium deflated suddenly seeing my experience for what it was. Commercial and emotional blackmail with only money in mind.

Sad isn’t it when people can and do look at things with sarcasm, I will go back to tell my nurse my true thoughts.

 

Gerry A/C Sept 2014©

Restawyle

September 22, 2014 - Posted by | Artistic., Feelings an Attitudes, Ghostly, Love, Music, News, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

13 Comments »

  1. I liked it but don’t you think it’s a part of life. May be just for the promotion of his book, he did make you and many other people feel happy, didn’t he?

    Comment by iamathinker19 | September 22, 2014 | Reply

    • Just me being me likes adding twists here and there..pure fiction… Thank you for stopping by and commenting welcome always….

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014 | Reply

  2. 🙂

    Comment by Priceless Joy | September 23, 2014 | Reply

  3. Great character description! I got the same feeling about him as you were describing him.

    Comment by Trish | September 23, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Trish your words are truly an honour to me thanks and welcome always….

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014 | Reply

  4. Ha, if this is true, I bet I know who it is… :))

    Comment by caseyalexanderblog | September 23, 2014 | Reply

    • It could be whoever one wishes it to be… welcome and thanks for the comment. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014 | Reply

      • The sign of a good writer…everyone thinks your character is someone they know! 🙂

        Comment by caseyalexanderblog | September 23, 2014

      • Thank you so much for the kind words. 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014

  5. Charlatan! You described him so perfectly–especially how he affected you with his voice and mannerisms.

    I once got to see a truly great inspirational speaker and enlightened man–Deepak Chopra. He, too, signed books during an intermission, but he spoke with each person with such sincerity as he was signing. The man cared about his readers and wants to make a difference in the world. I was enchanted by him.

    Most speakers are not of that caliber, though. They “do the circuit” for the money and to sell their books. Your character study was right on the money (pun intended)! 😉

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | September 23, 2014 | Reply

    • This was directed at no one in particular,, and you know me I like adding a twist of sorts..Some fun, some surprising and some sarcastically, just me being me.. As you say, there are more genuine ones than others…Thank you for the praise worthy words .. pure story telling and got a few tongues replying.. thanks Lorna and welcome..

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014 | Reply

  6. This is really cool, I could picture him!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | September 23, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Gilly so much appreciated.. welcome..

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 23, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

