Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Write 101- #10 Hungry Thoughts


Friday 26th September 2014

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Feel free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

Day 10 – #10- My Hungry Thoughts.

Words..482

Gaa/C June 2014.

Another day gone, I waited for my brother, we always walked home from school together. Today the sun was shining but it was still very cold, the past couple of days had been very frosty in the morning. It would only take us about fifteen minutes to get home, through the village and along the gravel road, into the small path passing the local football ground and then into our road. Our house was about half way down, opposite was a huge oak tree.

We walked in the back door and the normal sight of seeing mum preparing and cooking dinner. Both me and brother went into the front room and I shouted “what’s for dinner mum?”

“Tomato and cheese spaghetti, followed with rhubarb crumble.”

I would help my mum make it and went into the kitchen to see what she was doing. Preparing tomato’s by skinning them and then grating cheese, boiling up the spaghetti. “You can prepare the rhubarb if you like.” mum said. I then did as she had shown me and finished by cutting them into small chunks. I am yet to learn how to make the crumble,  mother had already done this. She finished putting the spaghetti and cheese and tomato together and then place the dish in the oven. She then prepared another dish and then filled it with the rhubarb and topped it with the crumble. I have always loved this dinner especially the rhubarb with home made custard. Yum, Yum!

I use to help my mother with her cooking, she was a great cook, she use to do it for a local hotel and person who she worked for. I enjoyed baking mostly, doing sponges and fruit cakes and then decorating them. It was always a great feeling when people ate it and said how good it was.

My mother started to wash up and I assisted by doing the drying and putting away, all the time smelling the aroma of the food in the oven cooking.

“Mmm I am so hungry mum.” I would say.

It wont be long now, dad should be home shortly and we can sit down and eat.” my mum would say. she was always cooking to meet dads coming home from a days work in the factory.

Right on time my dad would turn up at the time of 5.30pm, and mum was serving up the dinner. She would not let me help because of the hot dishes.

I always did and have loved this dinner, we all sat down together and ate our dinner.

“Dad, what’s for dinner?” my daughter shouted, jogging me out of my dreaming thoughts.

“Tomato and cheese spaghetti, and just for a treat I have done rhubarb crumble for afters.”

“Oh good, my favourite dad.” she shouted back.

 

Gaa/C© Friday 13th June 2014

Restawyle

September 26, 2014 - Posted by | Personal

17 Comments »

  1. A very enjoyable read, Gerry. 🙂

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | September 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you so much and it makes me so happy you enjoyed it.. welcome always.

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 26, 2014 | Reply

  2. Nothing like old memories and new ones of favorite comfort food. 🙂
    A wonderful heartwarming story.

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | September 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you,, so happy you have enjoyed .. I do have another rather funny one for another day…..welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 26, 2014 | Reply

  3. What a lovey memory. This one must have been a delight to write. I can tell by the easy way it’s written. It just flows so effortlessly. 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | September 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes it was easy from memory and enjoyable.. welcome always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 26, 2014 | Reply

  4. Ahh this is so touching, I can picture a young Gerry helping to make cakes!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | September 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Gilly, I did want to be a pastry chef and baker, but I could not work in kitchens.. After a year in hotel work my doctor advised to give it up,, Welcome always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 27, 2014 | Reply

  5. Yum! Sounds delicious! I enjoyed reading your post.

    Comment by Priceless Joy | September 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Joy,, always welcome to pop back as well… appreciated always. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 27, 2014 | Reply

  6. Aw, I can so hear your love as I read through your words. These are the memories we cherish – activities with our loved ones (especially those from the kitchen – the heart of the house). I believe when we remember our fond memories with those we have loved, the spirits of our loved ones come to visit. Sometimes, I feel like my dad is sitting just there remembering with me. It’s so great to pass on our most loved memories as traditions with the next generation, isn’t it? 🙂

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | September 28, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks Carol, most of my stories are related in some way to my long past, even if only a little piece..my novel called the Parchment is based around the new forest, and the love story is about my music days and home village.. and this is no different.. My way of recording memories of sorts.. Welcome alway and thank you 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 28, 2014 | Reply

  7. Oh wow- rhubarb crumble! Just has to be with custard, doesn’t it? I might go hunt out some rhubarb today 🙂
    Hope you have a little sunshine today. My skies are very cloudy but I’ve just viewed a glorious sunrise.

    Comment by restlessjo | September 30, 2014 | Reply

    • Definitely custard,, and today is nice and sunny and actually quite warm.. If you do get some rhubarb!!! enjoy,…thank you Jo welcome always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | September 30, 2014 | Reply

  8. When I was a kid, I loved tuna fish sandwiches on white bread with potato chips crumbled up on top. Every once in a while I still chomp down on ‘um, too. Now, I have to share with the orples, so they don’t land so hard anymore. The back ground band reminds me of the British Invasion. I wonder why that might be? 😉

    Comment by orples | November 9, 2014 | Reply

    • Done, and thank you, there was a band in Epcot Disney Florida called British Invasion, Imitation Beatles… welcome always

      Comment by cobbies69 | November 9, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

