Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Sandra’s Challenge


Monday 15th December 2014

2

red-stocking-with-stories-2-with-ornaments3

https://christmasiscalling.wordpress.com/2014/12/13/stocking-full-of-stories-christmas-writing-challenge-week-3/

 Prayer of Love!

Song/Poem.

Sitting in a church dear,

Watching the candles burn.

The lights they are so dull,

But I find my way to a pew.

The statue at the alter

Is staring back at me.

The priest up at the front,

Is talking of tranquility.

The choir they start singing,

And they are singing our song.

The song you use to love,

When we were all alone.

The hymn books they are blue,

With all the songs you want to sing.

Looking up a certain number,

And find the song is there.

I’m sitting in a church dear,

Praying for our love.

The priest up at the front,

Is accepting the prayers I give.

The statue at the alter,

Is staring back at me.

And I say I’m sorry Lord now,

I am not the one to be.

Gerry A/C 2014©

hippie-g.jpg

Restawyle

December 15, 2014 - Posted by | Personal

11 Comments »

  1. Gerry, the imagery is so real. I can see the church, the colors, that dim light, and the statue staring back at him. It’s beautiful and poignant and really special.

    I’ve been thinking about doing a poem this week myself, and I haven’t been able to make up my mind.

    Thank you so much for taking part all three weeks. Hope you have a truly happy and peaceful Christmas.

    Comment by Sandra Conner | December 15, 2014 | Reply

    • Oooops, I made my comment from the personal page instead of the “Merry Christmas” page. But you know we’re one and the same, right?

      Comment by Sandra Conner | December 15, 2014 | Reply

      • Thank you Sandra,, so pleased you read it as I wrote it… A quaint little church on a small hillside with trees all around,,, And wishing you a great Christmas… take care.. welcome always..

        Comment by cobbies69 | December 15, 2014

  2. Nicely written Gerry. I enjoyed reading your poem.

    Comment by Colline | December 15, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you Colline,, it was also a song years ago,, but forgotten the music.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 15, 2014 | Reply

  3. W.o.n.d.e.r.f.u.l. poem. Paints a lovely picture.

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | December 15, 2014 | Reply

    • Aaw! thank you.. so pleased you enjoyed.. welcome always

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 15, 2014 | Reply

  4. Moving, gerry. Very nice.

    Comment by firstandfabulous | December 15, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you .. glad you enjoyed.. welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 15, 2014 | Reply

  5. Thanks again, Gerry. Just wanted to make the comment “official” by posting it from the Christmas blog. I really appreciate all your participation.

    Comment by Merry Christmas, World! | December 16, 2014 | Reply

    • You are welcome Sandra and thank you for the prompts.. enjoy them.. welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | December 16, 2014 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

