Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Two Things!!


Thursday 12th March 2015.

Daily-Gerald981_thumb.jpg

 

Another brief scoop for the WordPress community by the word famous newspaper ‘Daily Gerald’ More updates to follow so keep a watch out for articles to appear here.

Two Things.

{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}

As most of you might know, I wrote a post a little while ago updating you all about my latest story.

The Birth of a Wizard Prince.  Firstly my story is now at a point that I can actually say it will be completed very shortly. At most another week, I am at the climax of the story and in the process of writing the final event, ie: a battle and then the gathering of ones thoughts and how they move on. All this is clearly in my mind, just needing me to put it into words and then into the Word document and save it. It does sound simple but for me it is harder done than said.There are a couple of things I need to think about to make the story ending work. For example an incantation that must make sense to the story line is just one thing for me to think and work out.

2014-Winner-Facebook-Cover

 

The second thing is, and I believe it to be a good thing. While writing this current story I have included a secondary story line, a deceit a lie, the usual sort of thing. It was completely unintentional but it aided the main story and gave reason to the story line. While now I had this thought about using it to use as the back drop to another story. A follow on to the original story. Not  number 2 to my original just a follow on with several of the main characters included. Instead of calling The Birth of the Wizard Prince 2 (because he is now born) it would have to be something entirely new. As yet not decided on a title a few main titles come to the forefront but will decide later. One decision I have to make is that Camp Nanowrimo is drawing close and do I participate again or should I give it a miss and do the July one. My reason for missing it is that I feel a little break is needed and I could start a little editing. Not that it is important to me because the story will probably go no further than my computer and maybe my printer. Reason I say printer is because the characters are based off my family, brothers and sister and parents, same names but shortened. And I think my sister would be interested in reading. A good test subject to give me feedback.

Camp Nanowrimo is a little easier than the November Nanowrimo which requires one to write 50000 words,while Camp offers a lot less word count. One can nominate a lowly 10000 up 100000 and anything in between, I usually nominate 35000. Because of this it become less pressurized. One can link up with others by joining a cabin with eleven others of similar age, styles or topics of writing basically what ever you nominate, or you can let the organiser to nominate and it is then up to you all if you wish to talk to each other. I personally have had rather boring cabins. 

RestawyleGerry A/C 2015.

 

 

March 12, 2015 - Posted by | Feelings an Attitudes, Interest, Love, News, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

25 Comments »

  1. Wonderful you have yet another story under your belt. Good on YOU! 🙂

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 12, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you,, It is what if anything do I do with it….I might consider another as I have said or maybe shorts that I use to do for awhile… welcome always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 12, 2015 | Reply

      • Write them all down and when you hit a dry spot (if ever), you can then edit. Sounds great to me. 😀

        Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 13, 2015

      • Thank you and your advice will be heeded. always…

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 13, 2015

  2. You have learnt the discipline – why not just forget Nanowrimo and write because the stories tell you to?

    Comment by colonialist | March 12, 2015 | Reply

    • That is a good point, I did however enjoy the pressure of Nano,,, but maybe four times is enough and I do not really need it now.. thanks Col’ and welcome…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 12, 2015 | Reply

  3. So are you saying you’re just writing it for your own satisfaction, Gerry? Not aiming to get it published, I mean? 🙂

    Comment by restlessjo | March 12, 2015 | Reply

    • A bit of both really, bbut not really confident enough to go that far.. do like the idea but not sure.. welcome and thank you Jo..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 12, 2015 | Reply

  4. I like your expression “it’s harder done than said”. I might use it! I see Terry Pratchett has died, and if I remember rightly your writing is inspired by him. Continue to be inspired and keep up the good work.

    Comment by Wish | March 12, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Trish, A sad loss to the writing world indeed, I did like him but if any inspiration I would say it is Terry Brooks first and then Mr Patchett… Hopefully will continue after this one.. poetry has taken a little bit of a lead as well recently. welcome always

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 13, 2015 | Reply

      • Whoops. Sorry about the wrong Terry.

        Comment by Wish | March 13, 2015

      • No problem Trish. 🙂

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 13, 2015

  5. You sound very excited, as you should be. Good luck. G

    Comment by firstandfabulous | March 13, 2015 | Reply

    • I am I must admit,, it is always to have good decisions to make.. welcome always….

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 13, 2015 | Reply

  6. So glad you’re coming close to the finale of your story. It’s always a great feeling.

    This next comment is just something off the top of my head in relation to your doing Camp Nano: If you find the “cabin” groups somewhat boring, and the only real good you’ve received from Camp Nano is that it keeps pressure on you to write, why not skip if for this time around and just concentrate on this story and the second one you’re considering. I’m thinking that the momentum you have built up nearing the completion of this first story will probably be enough pressure to keep you working at it faithfully, and you may enjoy it more because of not feeling pressed to meet a deadline imposed by someone else.

    But, as I said, these are just thoughts that came to me, and I just share them as something else you can add to the mix already in your mind as you decide what to do.

    Comment by Sandra Conner | March 13, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Sandra, I am leaning very much to your way of thinking… I have surprised myself in the past couple of months and am truly at the end by next week..I must admit the Parchment story was my great adventure but this one has taken me the full hog…Your advice is always very important to me and is one that I take note of. Your thoughts are always welcome and mean so much… welcome always…. I will keep you informed….

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 13, 2015 | Reply

  7. Well done, Gerry! 🙂 The more you write, the more you seem to be enjoying it. Good luck with your next story.

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | March 14, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Sylvia,,every day I do seem to learn something..welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 14, 2015 | Reply

  8. Don’t forget I’m always around if you want me to read some or all of it.

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | March 14, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you K, will do,, I have not forgotten.. so appreciated thanks……

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 15, 2015 | Reply

  9. I’m glad to hear of your progress. I know it has been a long journey, Gerry. Smile and hugs to you! 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | March 15, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Lorna,, am truly honoured will let you know when actually finished.. this week hopefully.. welcome always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 15, 2015 | Reply

  10. Congratulations! Writing a story is so difficult and I admire your commitment to the process. Isn’t it interesting how a story can start to take on a life of its own while you are writing it? I have had the same experience. I don’t write stories often, but characters gain their own voice and they can start taking your story places that you, as the author, never knew you were going. Good luck as you decide what to do next! 🙂

    Comment by Robin | March 24, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Robin, this story did go on a little longer than expected. Every ending I thought of something else happened and made it take on a different direction. I agree fully on the way characters start to actually talk back.. welcome and appreciated…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 25, 2015 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

