Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Crinkle Crankum. [Wavy Walls]


Saturday 28th March 2015

By Gerry A/C

Sunday 24th February 2013 first appeared on Legendary Post where I am, or was a guest poster, I haven’t posted for a long while. I have included the link for this site hosted by James..    https://thedarkglobe.wordpress.com/  I did find this post through my Evernote program.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A crinkle crankle wall, also known as a crinkum crankum, serpentine, ribbon or wavy wall, is an unusual type of garden wall.

crinkle-crankle, crinkum-crankum. Garden-wall, usually aligned east–west so that one side faces south, on a plan of elongated S-shaped curves joined in a continuous ribbon or serpentine form that stiffens the wall, enabling it to be less thick than a straight wall would have to be for stability, and removing the need for any buttresses.

The crinkle crankle wall economizes on bricks, despite its sinuous configuration, because it can be made just one brick thin. If a wall this thin were to be made in a straight line, without buttresses, it would easily topple over. The alternate convex and concave curves in the wall provide stability and help it to resist lateral forces

Wavy Walls, Church Lane, Lymington

Wavy Walls, Church Lane, Lymington – map

The Wavy Walls of Lymington
Hanoverian soldiers constructed this wavy wall at the beginning of the 19th century, the soldiers were in exile from the Napoleon wars and lived in Church lane.
They built the wall in a style that was then common in Northern Germany, the wavy shape gives the wall extra strength and can be built with only a single brick width.
After this French prisoners of war were responsible for building many more wavy walls in Lymington and surrounding areas.

There are also wavy walls on the other side of the road, these were built by the author Dennis Wheatley who lived at Grove Place from 1945 to 1969. When he moved to his London flat in 1969 all items that he couldn’t house were auctioned, these included 1,000 bottles of spirits and wines (before he became an author he worked in his father’s wine business in Mayfair).

File:Crinkle-Crankle Wall in Bramfield - geograph.org.uk - 108876.jpg

Back in the late 60’s and 70’s my usual haunts and hangouts were in Lymington Hampshire in the UK  in the New Forest. Since I started this line for my posts, Fables and Tales and the unusual of the New Forest, my home area.I have found  it to be  quite strange as to how close I was, am to history and not taking a much if any notice of it at the time. These walls for examples, most are built in the county of Suffolk and only 25 elsewhere in the country, and here in Lymington there is two. And during these years of my life, I and a couple of friends spent much of our time in Lymington. I am very surprised with these walls, passing them regularly and not actually taking any notice of them.

We, that is my friends and I would often travel this road as a short cut to a friends house, and never once did either of realise the writer living here or even building a wall of his own.

Now with these stories, I am learning so much and am enjoying this journey once again. Taking me back to the times of my life that meant so much in more ways than just music, even though much can be related with music. I wonder if any of you experienced the same  thing, realising things from your past and what they really are or mean or just something special.

 

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.

A wall with serpentine curves for growing fruit, dating in Britain from the mid-18th century. Its curving lines gave added strength, thus avoiding the need for buttressing.

crinkle-crankle wall, Vann, Godalming, Surrey, England

http://www.geograph.org.uk/gallery/crinkle_crankle_or_serpentine_walls_15374   For a few more pictures.

Restawyle

Gerry A/C 2015

March 28, 2015 - Posted by | Artistic., Feelings an Attitudes, Ghostly, Humourous, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

24 Comments »

  1. This is VERY interesting. I know you’ve shown photos of the wavy walls in a previous post, but I’m really intrigued about their strength as you’ve mentioned here. Makes me want to build one!

    Comment by Wish | March 28, 2015 | Reply

    • Yes I did a post for Legends a couple of years ago,, and they are quite intriguing I must admit, especially seen for real .. impressive.. welcome and thank you always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  2. I’m intrigued. I’ve seen some of this wall on an earlier post. I rather like them the more I look at them. Thanks for sharing all the background. 🙂

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 28, 2015 | Reply

    • You are welcome and I am pleased you liked them… welcome always and thanks..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

      • Have a wonderful rest of the weekend.

        Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 29, 2015

      • thank you and ditto to you 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015

  3. Thanks for sharing this again, Gerry. I had forgotten a lot of what you told us before about these walls. Very interesting — and very pretty.

    Comment by Sandra Conner | March 29, 2015 | Reply

    • I hope you enjoyed it,, I am not one for usually posting older posts,, although have thought about it.. welcome always.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

  4. It makes sense that it would be stronger now you’ve said it, but I love them for their beauty.

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | March 29, 2015 | Reply

    • It is a shame there are few left in the country,, so I feel lucky to see them for real.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

  5. Beautiful AND interesting!

    Comment by sued51 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

    • They do have their beauty,,,,,thank you Sue and welcome….

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

  6. There must be quite an art o building these wavy walls. Very interesting post, gerry. 🙂

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | March 29, 2015 | Reply

    • I couldn’t actually find anything regards to building them apart from what you have said… glad you thought it was interesting…..welcome always

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 29, 2015 | Reply

  7. I remember the good old days at dark globe! And we should have wavy walls in America. We could use some walls with character here! 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | March 31, 2015 | Reply

    • They are quite unique, do you really want them in USA, you have loads of other things…welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 31, 2015 | Reply

      • Yes I do. we do have lots of other things here, but not as nifty as those curvy walls!

        Comment by Lorna's Voice | April 3, 2015

      • 🙂

        Comment by cobbies69 | April 3, 2015

  8. How very clever! Love this idea, Gerry! Sorry, I’ve just found it 🙂

    Comment by restlessjo | April 2, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Jo, they are a little unique if I say so myself. Unusual enough for me to post about them,, I am lucky enough to live near some of the ones left… welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 2, 2015 | Reply

  9. I have been inspired. I’ve seen your earlier posts of the wavy walls but love that middle one up above and the last. I may have to build one of my own, perhaps a shorter version for a garden wall. 😉

    Comment by Carol B Sessums | April 4, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you, and yes I dare you to build a small one,, you will be the talk of the States… 😉 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 4, 2015 | Reply

  10. Thank you for the information.

    Comment by oldpoet56 | April 22, 2015 | Reply

    • happy you liked it.. welcome…

      Comment by cobbies69 | April 22, 2015 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

