Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

Taking the Stairs (poem)


Wednesday 13th May 2015.

450th Post, who would’ve thought it.

Taking the Stairs? [poem]

Pushing the button, I get locked away.

My vision is blinded, cannot see a thing.

Routine, same thing again today,

The sudden jolt, I hear a little ting.

Rising or falling, watching the number,

Seven, eight or nine, many more.

I am just like any other consumer,

Watching and waiting for the door.

Another ding, and the door parts,

I am still alone, on my own.

I stumble as it once again starts.

Something strange it starts to groan.

Numbers stop and red lights flash,

Heart rate rises, what do I do?

Calm down, do nothing brash,

Breathe calmly and wait for the crew.

Not again, second time this week.

Can only sit down and wait.

Once again do I turn a cheek,

Again it looks like I will be late.

Patience is now getting very thin,

They should start supplying chairs.

Uncertainty is getting under my skin.

From now on I’ll take the stairs.

Gerry A/C©

March 23rd 2015

May 13, 2015 - Posted by | Artistic., Feelings an Attitudes, Humourous, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, Personal, Poetry, Space

20 Comments »

  1. I get this because I love stairs and hate lifts. And as for the poem, your rhyming is clever, as always. Well done.

    Comment by Wish | May 13, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Trish, always honoured with your comments.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 13, 2015 | Reply

  2. This is really cute, Gerry. Good job. You’ve got all the emotions covered here.

    Comment by Sandra Conner | May 13, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Sandra, so pleased you see it that way.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 13, 2015 | Reply

  3. Love the line about needing chairs in that faulty elevator! Great poem, Gerry! 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | May 13, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Lorna,, it is nice when people relate to words or sentences etc. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 13, 2015 | Reply

  4. Zippy, witty poem. Love it. Haven’t taken any lately, but always have the fear I might end up stuck too. ❤

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | May 13, 2015 | Reply

    • I hate lifts, unless there are too many steps.. but I do have that fear…g pleased that you like it thank you.. welcome always

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 13, 2015 | Reply

  5. haha yes I know what it’s like to get stuck in a lift!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | May 13, 2015 | Reply

    • especially if one is claustrophobic… I do have inner fears… I used to hate escalators once. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 13, 2015 | Reply

  6. I really hate being in a lift by myself, or with only one other person. I’ve never been in one that broke down, but would still much rather take the stairs. Great poem, Gerry. 🙂

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | May 14, 2015 | Reply

    • I to would be wary about going in with one other or alone.. thank you and always appreciated and welcome

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 14, 2015 | Reply

  7. Your poems on poets corner Gerry

    Comment by Harry | May 16, 2015 | Reply

    • Okay thank you Harry will check out appreciated.. 😉

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 16, 2015 | Reply

  8. It’s frightening. I’ve been there; and now again with your vivid poem.

    Comment by Paula | May 25, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you Paula,, I am happy that the words work but hopefully in a good way.. welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | May 25, 2015 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

