Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

The 39 Steps!


Tuesday 17th January 2017

restawyle-ranting1

I am confused, disappointed and even go as far as to say I am unhappy. Why? I hear people say. Well! The above book is one of my favourite books, it tells a story that cannot be bettered. Well maybe it can depending on your tastes. My confusion etc started a few years ago when I managed to get hold of the book.Several copies actually, one stand alone book and also included in a compilation by the same author. (The story 39 Steps are both the same by the way, word for word) I hope you are smiling. Anyway, over the years I have seen many film versions of this book, old black and white films and new ‘ish coloured films. I have tried to find more but have been unsuccessful. While I enjoy the films and their differences, the story they tell all have one big flaw which seems to be missing from the book. Or..in this case lets say added. Why is that? I ask myself or anyone else that listens and might know the answer and might have their own opinion on this matter. Every 39 Steps film I have watched have all added one extra character to the film, a female co star. I am not being sexist or against female actors (actresses, I think is old fashioned these days) in fact some of my favourite actors are females. But why do directors, producers or script writers think they know better than the author. Why do they want or need to change an already great story. This happens rather a lot and it really does ‘**** me off. Watership Down, the more recent Shanara Chronicles plus many more. Why oh why do they do it? By they I mean people who make these films.  

Anyway guys this is my rant do you have any or do you agree with me.

restawyle-ranting1

Gerry A/C 2017

January 17, 2017 - Posted by | Artistic., Feelings an Attitudes, Ghostly, Humourous, Interest, Love, New Forest, News, Personal, Space, Uncategorized

24 Comments »

  1. Ahh there always has to be a relationship possibility!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | January 17, 2017 | Reply

    • Maybe so Gilly, but it still tells a false story in relation to the book. And in my opinion it does not enhance the story… Thank you and welcome always..

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

  2. Gilly’s right, as usual 🙂 Not like you to rant, Gerry! I’m still more or less good-humoured after the holiday so I won’t join you. 🙂

    Comment by restlessjo | January 17, 2017 | Reply

    • No I am not a ranter generally, but as some one like yourself who writes stories I do feel it would offend me. Anyway Jo thank you for saying so… welcome always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

  3. Very interesting point. I’m going to watch one of the films and see what you mean. I have the book but have never read it. Now’s the time.

    Comment by Wish | January 17, 2017 | Reply

    • I read Watership Down before seeing the film and was disappointed, and when I read 39 Steps I was really annoyed, and a couple of films have the female role in different characters. One is a plant and set up as a spy. welcome always and thank you

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

      • Do you recommend Watership Down, the book?

        Comment by Wish | January 18, 2017

      • Yes I read it several times and always enjoyed it. If this fantasy is to your liking then I recommend it. Enjoy and let me know what you think. Welcome 😉

        Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017

  4. Don’t your find many movies have a different take of ending? I hate when a character who isn’t in the book is added–because why? Do they change up the ending because they don’t want to give away the ending? We KNOW what it IS! We don’t mind. 🙂 😉

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | January 18, 2017 | Reply

    • Yes.. that is another point changing the ending,,, why? if the story is not good enough for what ever the reason then why bother making a film of it. Thank you and welcome always….

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

  5. Because films don’t want to halve their audiences – it’s a totally economic decision.

    Comment by southamptonoldlady | January 18, 2017 | Reply

    • That again is an insult to the writer, unless a writer has agreed… Must everything be about money???? Yes. Thank you and welcome always…

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

      • Agree with you – The Hollywood industry is all about money and prestigious awards. When someone manages to make a real film that proves popular it knocks them for six.

        Comment by southamptonoldlady | January 19, 2017

      • So true, just maybe one day.. but I doubt it. 🙂

        Comment by cobbies69 | January 19, 2017

  6. I think it has to do with the script writer. He is rewriting the story for a better film even if the book is great. I wonder if the authors care? When I see a movie after I’ve read a book 📚 I’m usually disappointed. You’ve raised a good point with this rant. 👍
    Isadora 😎

    Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | January 18, 2017 | Reply

    • I also wondered that but can a story be altered without permission? I suppose it boils down to no ey once again. This post is a little different for me and hope it has been agreeable. Thank you Izzy & welcome.

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 18, 2017 | Reply

      • I went to a book signing and spoke to author Jeff Lindsay who wrote the Dexter series. His books were done on a series for HBO. He spoke about the way the writer of the tv series didn’t follow his books that closely. When asked if he minded, he said, “Once you give them the rights they can do with it what they choose”. He didn’t give them the last book. The producers had to create their own ending; which was terrible. I read the books and saw the tv series, his books are better.
        Anyway, great dialog on this post. Sometimes, you just have to rant, Gerry. I like when people change it up. This was a change for you but I enjoyed the exchange of thoughts. Have a great weekend.

        Comment by Inside the Mind of Isadora | January 21, 2017

      • That is very interesting .. Thank you Izzy so much for this info. Welcome always. 😎

        Comment by cobbies69 | January 21, 2017

  7. Gerry, I cannot think of a single instance where I have enjoyed the movie version of a book better than the book. The film industry panders to a different audience and has a different “formula” for what they believe makes a successful film. Unfortunately, that often means bastardizing the original written work so much that they should say “Loosely based on …” 😐

    Comment by Lorna's Voice | January 18, 2017 | Reply

    • I agree Lorna, even the stories that are suppose to be true events they have to add something… Yes there should be some label telling us… 🙂

      Comment by cobbies69 | January 19, 2017 | Reply

  8. Ultimately, isn’t at usually about sex? Of course, I haven’t read this particular book – or seen the movies – but in general, I’ve found that adding a woman — or a man — is for the sake of a relationship between the sexes. I could be wrong, though. Anyway, I, too, am aggravated and disappointed when movies add or detract significantly. The epitome of such stupidity was reached by the Disney company when they produced the movie Pocahontas. They created a story that was nothing but a pack of lies and never even included a disclaimer of any kind with regard to the true story of her life.
    I’ll add one more point: rarely have I ever seen a movie version that is as good as the book.

    Comment by Sandra Conner | February 20, 2017 | Reply

    • I fully agree with you. Yes I realised about the Pocahontas film, she died at the age of 24 and married and Englishman etc but Disney destroyed the story. I do not like the adding of a character, male or female, especially when it adds nothing g to the original story, as in 39Steps. Welcome and thanks Sandra. 😋

      Comment by cobbies69 | February 20, 2017 | Reply

  9. The ultimate insult with the edition pictured is that it doesn’t even credit John Buchan.

    Comment by colonialist | March 5, 2017 | Reply

    • I did not notice, but maybe the filmmakers thought it was so different it was no longer the same story. Yes big insult indeed. Welcome.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 6, 2017 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

