Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

The Scribbler Writes Again.📝


ScribblerThursday 2nd March 2017.

Since Xmas I have decided to read some classic books. My last post about 39 Steps was number one, some might say it is not a classic. My second was ‘To Kill a Mockingbird”. However I have now watched a film of this book even though I could only find the one.

Image result for to kill a mockingbird

I was surprised to see that the film, starring Gregory Peck, followed pretty close to the book. ,,however there were a few minor changes to the book. The ones that were noticeable were parts of the story being left out. This did not affect the story-line. Where the book, like most books, write descriptions of people and their expressions or the environment. Some try to put the reader into a place or situation this film uses the visual qualities and camera work and techniques of film. If you haven’t read the book or seen the film I strongly advise that you do, I am sure you will enjoy it. I say to you now ‘Good Viewing or Reading or Both’.

Image result for to kill a mockingbird

March 2, 2017 - Posted by | Artistic., Christmas, Feelings an Attitudes, Ghostly, Humourous, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, News, Personal, Poetry, Space, Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. I’m presently reading The 39 Steps on your recommendation. It’s a similar style of writing to A Month in the Country though they were written decades apart. I read To Kill a Mockingbird when I was a student and couldn’t put it down. I enjoyed reading your reviews.

    Comment by Wish | March 2, 2017 | Reply

    • I am pleased to hear it and I hope you are enjoying the story. I also found ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ hard to put down until I finished it. Thank you for your kind words on my brief reviews and opinions.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 3, 2017 | Reply

  2. Love that book and the movie but haven’t seen it in years and years. Of course, I also like Gregory Peck. Sigh.

    Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 3, 2017 | Reply

    • Thank you ,,, yes the film is engrossing. Welcome and thanks 😼

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 3, 2017 | Reply

      • You are more than welcome, Gerry. 😉

        Comment by Let's CUT the Crap! | March 4, 2017

      • Thank you so much, very kind of you🙏

        Comment by cobbies69 | March 4, 2017

  3. I think I might have seen the film of The 39 Steps as a young child, but I’m ashamed to say I haven’t read either!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | March 3, 2017 | Reply

    • There are several films all good. But for different reasons. I do recommend a read though. Thank you and welcome.👦

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 3, 2017 | Reply

  4. Funny how some things pass you by, isn’t it? I’ve always meant to read To Kill a Mocking Bird but it has eluded me. I shall seek it out, on your recommendation. 🙂 Happy weekend, Gerry! Pouring here. Can only get better!

    Comment by restlessjo | March 3, 2017 | Reply

    • It will be very worthwhile, it is a good read. The sun is out but the wind is cold very cold. Welcome…..📕📓📑📔📚

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 4, 2017 | Reply

  5. A good book, and the filmmakers did not ‘Hollywoodise’ it to the extent they so often do. I was totally fed up with the film version of Lorna Doone, for example.

    Comment by colonialist | March 5, 2017 | Reply

    • I thought the film was good, no frills etc. Agree with you. Thanks and welcome.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 6, 2017 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

