Restawyle

Rest, Relax and Enjoy

The Scribbler Scribbles. (Watership Down)


Monday 13th March 2017

Some may say this book is not a classic, I say it is and so does Wiki’ (Watership Down is a classic adventure novel, written by English author Richard Adams,)

Born Richard George Adams
9 May 1920
Wash Common, Newbury, Berkshire, England
Died 24 December 2016 (aged 96)
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

The original book cover.
Richard Adams WatershipDown.jpg

Release date: November 1972

I first bought this book in 1974 and promptly read it from cover to cover. It was my type of story, a fantasy and well written. Not to forget it was about rabbits, adorable and cuddly creatures and makes one cry when harm comes to one them. Richard Adams the author, became one of my favourite writers, I went on to read other titles by him. PLAGUE DOGS 1977- SHARDIK- 1974 & GIRL IN A SWING 1980. All brilliant stories and each was made into film, some with changes, ie, characters names. I say all are a must read. 

Image result for watership down

My mistake was to read the book first, however, saying this I didn’t really have much choice as the film was released at a much later date, 1978. The film at the time was a bit of a flop, and I could see why. Not very good animation or art work in my view. But if one hadn’t read the book then, by having nothing to compare, I am sure one would enjoy it. I later did. But what helped this film was its music especially one track. “Bright Eyes” is a song written by Mike Batt  (ex Wombles) and performed by Art Garfunkel.

 

Image result for watership down

Gerry A/C 2017

March 13, 2017 - Posted by | Artistic., Christmas, Feelings an Attitudes, Ghostly, Humourous, Interest, Love, Music, New Forest, News, Personal, Poetry, Space, Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. I enjoyed this. I thought about our native animals, like kangaroos and wombats, their carcasses along the sides of highways. (I don’t think of rabbits because this is Australia where there are millions too many.)

    Comment by Wish | March 14, 2017 | Reply

    • I suppose i n reality we are the same but try telling a child who has a pet rabbit. However the story is still good, imagination needed amazes me. Thank you and welcome Trish.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 14, 2017 | Reply

  2. I read the book and saw the film, and enjoyed them, but both upset me, I can’t do animal stories that make me cry that much!

    Comment by Lucid Gypsy | March 14, 2017 | Reply

    • Both are good but it took me a little while to war to the film. Welcome and thanks Gilly always.

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 14, 2017 | Reply

  3. I’m with soft hearted, Gilly, but I do love the song, Gerry 🙂

    Comment by restlessjo | March 17, 2017 | Reply

    • I agree the song is great and to a point, maybe popularised the film. Welcome always.🌞🆒

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 18, 2017 | Reply

  4. I haven’t read the book, but I remember that the movie made me cry. I taught that song ‘Bright Eyes’ to my school choir.

    Comment by anotherday2paradise | March 26, 2017 | Reply

    • Brill’ song it is. Helped make the film a success. My voice is no where as good as Garfunkel, so never attempted it. Welcome and thanks.💀👲

      Comment by cobbies69 | March 27, 2017 | Reply


Dont be Shy! Leave a Reply

